Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Perfect. I took the advise of my sister and slightly cooked the apples first. My guests raved about this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Very tastey. I cooked the apples for a few minutes like another review suggested. I think this step was necessary so that the center of the dessert doesn't come out mushy and wet. Then I placed the apples all around the filling and sprinkled more sugar on top and baked it. I forgot to add the almonds - so when the dessert was baked I toasted up the almonds in a small frying pan and sprinkled them on top. Nice flavour. This is more like a tart than a torte. Would definately make again. Would be nice for company. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I have made this at least a dozen times over the years--each times with rave reviews. Makes the home smell wonderful when baking and is even better the second day after refridgerated! An impressive dessert for company! I often double the recipe and use a 10" springform pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I have made this torte twice. Both times my guests asked what bakery I got it from because it looked and tasted so good. However, the second time I added some of the juice from the sliced apples thinking it would add to the flavor but instead it made the center of the torte a little soggy. So- follow the directions and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
bake for 45 minutes instead of 35. the shortbread crust becomes much tastier, harder and easier to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Much easier to make than I anticipated. Some tortes don't need a crust on the side, as they set firm enough. Given the amount of crust this recipe called for, I ran it up the side of the pan. It worked well, but I think would have been prettier w/o the crust on the sides. I also used 1.5X the cream mixture. I did precook the apples a little first, which reduces the amount. So if you precook the apples, don't reduct the number you use. It turned out great & tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Almost just right. Somehow the cream cheese mixture did't set up right. It was cooked all the way but not creamy, almost curdled. I suspect the apples. Any ideas. The crust is excellent I've been looking for a recipe like this forever. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This is a TART, not a TORTE. This has a very pretty presentation. The crust was the best part of the dish (very buttery and tasted like a cookie). However, the dish overall was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
We varied the recipe slightly, but it was tasty, creamy, & flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This is a beautiful dish. Everyone thought I bought this at a bakery! One reviewer had a problem with it falling apart and being uncooked. I think that is because the recipe is unclear when it says to push crust on the bottom on pan. You also should press it on the sides. I wouldn't recommend cutting down on the crust amount because it browns nicely now. If you cut down on it, it would burn. I would recommend increasing the cream mixture - it is very yummy! This recipe is a definite keeper. I have made it many times and it is always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States