Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Absolutely delicious Terri! I added a couple of eggs to the filling, and due to nut allergies, I replaced them with a crumb topping. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This really is a delicious dessert. I made a rum sauce to go over it and it was a hit! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Made this recipe with 2/3 cup of sour cream rather than cream cheese. Was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
DO NOT MESS WITH THIS RECIPE >> JUST FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS..IT IS PERFECT! The most impressive and delicious dessert I have had in a long time. I checked out the description of a torte vs a tart and it seems to be a TART (A tart is a pastry dish, usually sweet, similar to a pie, but different in that the top is open and not covered with pastry.) I followed the directions to the T except for the crust and I did not add vanilla. I cut my butter into the flour and sugar and did not want to mix in liquid so added a sprinkle of cinnamon then patted into the bottom of the spring form....i then put the cheese filling on top of that and I thought the recipe said 4 cups of apples for some reason so that is what i used. I sliced them in about 1/4" slices and arranged them on edge sticking them down into the cheese mixture making a circle and then filling in the middle. Baked according to instructions. I then removed from oven and put about a 1/4 cup of peach preserves on the top and then the slivered almonds and put it under the broiler for a few minutes...(watch carefully) It was beautiful and delicious! I even think you could cut back on the sugars somewhat. Divine! just divine and very impressive! thanks for sharing this recipe! Yes I am a food critic! and still able to impress my friends, thanks the these kinds of recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
A very tastey cheesecake. I doubled the filling, and make sure you keep an eye on it when its in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit! I read other reviews and made the following changes: made the cheese filling 1 1/2 size the recipe (used 2 medium eggs) and pre-cooked the apples 5 minutes in the microwave. I think I used only 3 apples and had a few slices left over. Next time I will use the same amount of cheese filling but will dice the apples instead of slicing them. Another reviewer suggested this and I think it would help as even after pre-cooking my apples were difficult to cut with a fork. I don't think dicing the apples will change the presentation because once the sliced almonds are sprinkled on top the effect of the wheel-patterned slices is diminished anyway. Overall a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
it was a hit! great looking for presentation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2CHAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frazee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This Apple Bavarian Torte is to DIE for! It's soooo Good, and easy too!! You have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I tripled this and made it in a jelly roll pan I only used one and a half large apples I diced them instead of slicing them, I also used grounded walnuts I took this to a church dinner and it was a real hit. Thank you for the recipie it was awesome and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This is a delicious and easy dessert. I suggest pressing the crust 1 1\2 " up the sides of the springform pan, and using almond extract instead of vanilla in the crust (goes well with the almonds in the torte). I also slightly cooked the apples in the microwave for 2 min or so, before I mixed them with cinnamon and sugar. Lastly, after the torte cooled, I used a glaze of strained nectarine jam heated and mixed with a tsp of water to give it a nice glossy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEN-SU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States