Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very tasty. Apples do cook down so I would use 5 or 6 medium ones. I also precooked for 3 min. as others suggested. Top of apples were a little dry, I may cover with foil for part of the time to keep in more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I have to say, I'm usually a little skeptical when something gets such high marks - I'm a very picky cook and eater. However, this one deserves all 5 stars! It not only is delicious, but so so so easy to make. I had my family-in-law over for Christmas and this got rave reviews. My husband is begging me to make it again just for us. The only thing I'd really like to point out is not to expect anything wildly different - it's basically a flat cheesecake with cinnamon apples on top, but don't let the simplicity deter you, it is so good. Lastly I'll add that I followed some advice and used only 4 apples & put the apple mixture in a pyrex bowl and microwaved it on high for 3 minutes. The apples were perfect, not too soft nor too crunchy (I used Macouns). Doing this did make the cinnamon sugar syrupy, so I didn't lay my apple slices out decoratively, I just poured it on/spread it out. It still was very attractive. Do make this recipe . . . you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this cake for a Christmas party and was somewhat nervous about how it would "present" since it was my first attempt at making it. I should not have worried just as those that critiqued the cake before had said - it turned out beautiful. The cake tasted wonderfully also but I did make the suggested change by doubling the cream cheese filling portion and also used only 3 large apples which I first softened by cooking them for 4 minutes in the microwave before incorporating them into the recipe. It was eaten so quickly and I should have made 2 cakes because I was only able to get 8 servings from my cake and no one thought it to be too rich at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. Slicing the apples paper thin does well. The cream cheese mixture was a perfect balance. I had a non dessert eater that loved it!I believe that if you add or take away from a recipe that it should not be rated --it is no longer the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisalaluna
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Great simple crust, a new favorite! I like microwaving the apples, like suggested by so many, but be careful to not over-microwave them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalaluna
Home Town: Truckee, California, USA
Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe! Thanks. I doubled the recipe with no problems. I took the advice to microwave the apples for three minutes, and it turned out wonderful The ladies that enjoyed it, loved the crust! I did not double the apples, as it was indicated there were too many, however next time, I will use the amount recommended. It was wonderful, and enough filling in it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is possibly the best dessert I've ever made, and desserts are one of my specialties. Rave reviews from my husband as well. It didn't last long enough to share it with anyone else! Only made two small changes to the original recipe, following some of the suggestions of other reviewers: microwaved the apple mixture for 3 minutes (and drained 2/3 of the liquid off before putting it on the torte), and added 1/4 tsp of almond extract and 1/4 tsp of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture instead of 1/2 of vanilla. It was perfect with the small changes. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcmeg12
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I got good feedback from everyone who tried the torte. I thought the crust was a bit soggy. The pie also had very good presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Delicious dessert!! Agree w/ others to pre-cook apples in microwave because they are crunchy otherwise. Used 7 or 8 Granny Smith's piled high - they will sink once finished baking. Have made twice & both turned out great. Next time I'll try canned pears (per another reviewer's suggestion) - easier than slicing apples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
One of my favorite fruits are apples. I have MANY apple recipes and have made all of them many times. This Bavarian Torte is definitely one of my favorites. I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the cream cheese mixture and cut back on the apples. I used four medium-large apples and had some left over. I mixed the cinnamon and sugar with the apples and microwaved them for 3 minutes before placing them on the torte. I increased the vanilla and cinnamon because I enjoy both. The result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States