Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My grandmother made this for me 20+ years ago, and I loved it. I to this day still make it, and it's is a requested item at any dinner I go to and is expected to be served at all my dinner parties! Do not mess with the amounts and what you do and don't put in anytime I have tried to get fancy with it, it never turns out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Insanely delicious! Definite keeper. Everyone whose had it thinks it is incredible. Sometimes I add a little extra sugar and 1 cup cranberries for a holiday twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very tasty. Apples do cook down so I would use 5 or 6 medium ones. I also precooked for 3 min. as others suggested. Top of apples were a little dry, I may cover with foil for part of the time to keep in more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I have to say, I'm usually a little skeptical when something gets such high marks - I'm a very picky cook and eater. However, this one deserves all 5 stars! It not only is delicious, but so so so easy to make. I had my family-in-law over for Christmas and this got rave reviews. My husband is begging me to make it again just for us. The only thing I'd really like to point out is not to expect anything wildly different - it's basically a flat cheesecake with cinnamon apples on top, but don't let the simplicity deter you, it is so good. Lastly I'll add that I followed some advice and used only 4 apples & put the apple mixture in a pyrex bowl and microwaved it on high for 3 minutes. The apples were perfect, not too soft nor too crunchy (I used Macouns). Doing this did make the cinnamon sugar syrupy, so I didn't lay my apple slices out decoratively, I just poured it on/spread it out. It still was very attractive. Do make this recipe . . . you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this cake for a Christmas party and was somewhat nervous about how it would "present" since it was my first attempt at making it. I should not have worried just as those that critiqued the cake before had said - it turned out beautiful. The cake tasted wonderfully also but I did make the suggested change by doubling the cream cheese filling portion and also used only 3 large apples which I first softened by cooking them for 4 minutes in the microwave before incorporating them into the recipe. It was eaten so quickly and I should have made 2 cakes because I was only able to get 8 servings from my cake and no one thought it to be too rich at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. Slicing the apples paper thin does well. The cream cheese mixture was a perfect balance. I had a non dessert eater that loved it!I believe that if you add or take away from a recipe that it should not be rated --it is no longer the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisalaluna
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Great simple crust, a new favorite! I like microwaving the apples, like suggested by so many, but be careful to not over-microwave them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalaluna
Home Town: Truckee, California, USA
Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe! Thanks. I doubled the recipe with no problems. I took the advice to microwave the apples for three minutes, and it turned out wonderful The ladies that enjoyed it, loved the crust! I did not double the apples, as it was indicated there were too many, however next time, I will use the amount recommended. It was wonderful, and enough filling in it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is possibly the best dessert I've ever made, and desserts are one of my specialties. Rave reviews from my husband as well. It didn't last long enough to share it with anyone else! Only made two small changes to the original recipe, following some of the suggestions of other reviewers: microwaved the apple mixture for 3 minutes (and drained 2/3 of the liquid off before putting it on the torte), and added 1/4 tsp of almond extract and 1/4 tsp of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture instead of 1/2 of vanilla. It was perfect with the small changes. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcmeg12
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I got good feedback from everyone who tried the torte. I thought the crust was a bit soggy. The pie also had very good presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States