Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was so delicious and so pretty! I don't think I've ever made a prettier dessert, this is definitely the one I'll use to impress! I used Granny Smith apples and it only needed 3 of those because they're huge. I sprinkled a little extra sugar on top to counter the tartness of the apples but I don't think it was necessary. In the future I think I will double the cream cheese section--it's just so tasty! I did make this in my largest springform pan, it's probably a 12 incher--I might double the shortbread crust recipe next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Wow - I was really pleasantly surprised with this recipe. The writing of the recipe - regarding the making of the crust - was a little misleading, however. I am not such an expert baker that I would have known, for instance, that you really need to cream the butter and sugar together FIRST, until light and fluffy, and THEN add the flour in batches. That will be key for the next time I make this (possibly ASAP for an upcoming brunch!!). I would suggest using 5 apples only but it really depends on how heavily you want to layer them. I also agree with other reviewers: cook the apples for 3 min in the microwave first with the sugar/cinnamon to soften them up and THEN, after baking, poor the remaining cinn/sugar water over the top. Very delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My grandmother made this for me 20+ years ago, and I loved it. I to this day still make it, and it's is a requested item at any dinner I go to and is expected to be served at all my dinner parties! Do not mess with the amounts and what you do and don't put in anytime I have tried to get fancy with it, it never turns out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Insanely delicious! Definite keeper. Everyone whose had it thinks it is incredible. Sometimes I add a little extra sugar and 1 cup cranberries for a holiday twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very tasty. Apples do cook down so I would use 5 or 6 medium ones. I also precooked for 3 min. as others suggested. Top of apples were a little dry, I may cover with foil for part of the time to keep in more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I have to say, I'm usually a little skeptical when something gets such high marks - I'm a very picky cook and eater. However, this one deserves all 5 stars! It not only is delicious, but so so so easy to make. I had my family-in-law over for Christmas and this got rave reviews. My husband is begging me to make it again just for us. The only thing I'd really like to point out is not to expect anything wildly different - it's basically a flat cheesecake with cinnamon apples on top, but don't let the simplicity deter you, it is so good. Lastly I'll add that I followed some advice and used only 4 apples & put the apple mixture in a pyrex bowl and microwaved it on high for 3 minutes. The apples were perfect, not too soft nor too crunchy (I used Macouns). Doing this did make the cinnamon sugar syrupy, so I didn't lay my apple slices out decoratively, I just poured it on/spread it out. It still was very attractive. Do make this recipe . . . you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this cake for a Christmas party and was somewhat nervous about how it would "present" since it was my first attempt at making it. I should not have worried just as those that critiqued the cake before had said - it turned out beautiful. The cake tasted wonderfully also but I did make the suggested change by doubling the cream cheese filling portion and also used only 3 large apples which I first softened by cooking them for 4 minutes in the microwave before incorporating them into the recipe. It was eaten so quickly and I should have made 2 cakes because I was only able to get 8 servings from my cake and no one thought it to be too rich at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. Slicing the apples paper thin does well. The cream cheese mixture was a perfect balance. I had a non dessert eater that loved it!I believe that if you add or take away from a recipe that it should not be rated --it is no longer the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisalaluna
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Great simple crust, a new favorite! I like microwaving the apples, like suggested by so many, but be careful to not over-microwave them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalaluna
Home Town: Truckee, California, USA
Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe! Thanks. I doubled the recipe with no problems. I took the advice to microwave the apples for three minutes, and it turned out wonderful The ladies that enjoyed it, loved the crust! I did not double the apples, as it was indicated there were too many, however next time, I will use the amount recommended. It was wonderful, and enough filling in it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States