Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was actually disappointed with this dessert. I am picky about apple desserts, but these apples were just barely cooked at all and super crunchy - made a mess when we tried to cut into it. I will definitely use the crust recipe again, but the overall torte if I were to make it again I would sauté the apples in a pan first to almost done and then arrange them in the dish. I do appreciate that I doubled the cheese mixture and layered it with the apples a few times because otherwise it would have just been a large amount of undercooked apples. I also added more cinnamon than was called for which added a lot of flavor which would have been missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was good, not great. I would rate it 3 stars but everyone else really liked it, so I upped it to 4. First off, I'm pretty sure this is a tart and not a torte. Second, I had to cook it maybe 20 minutes more than the recipe called for due to the apples being undercooked. At the point they finally were tender, bits of the crust were over browned. I do not agree with others saying there is not enough cream cheese filling. I think there is too much. If making again, I would make more dough for the crust as it barely went halfway up the sides of my tart pan. I would then probably just do a thin layer of cream, maybe 1/4 inch. I also made the cream with almond extract in place of vanilla which was delicious. Next, the apples need something more to meld them together. I would maybe make some sort of a paste on the stop by cooking them a bit with sugar, apple juice, and cornstarch. Jam or something would work too. I didn't like that the apples were just kind of sitting on top on the cream and would've liked it to cook with the other layers. It also needs something to keep the almonds in place. They just fell right off the slices. All of that aside, the tart did have good flavors and was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I was disappointed in the appearance of this and handling it. It tasted fine but the apples weren't soft after the 35 minutes of cook time, so I added another 20 minutes. It still was under-cooked. Tasted fine but fell apart when I tried to serve it. Anyone else have this problem? I didn't see any comments about adjusting the baking time but if I prepared this one again, I'd double the time at the lower temperature before adding the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wonderful taste. Since some reviewers suggested that the apples needed some softening and I don't have a microwave, I put the apple slices and some milk in the oven at 175 degrees C while I was preparing the rest. Definitely going to be repeated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I wasn't sure about this. But boy am I glad I made it!! Amazing! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Rial

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Served this after Christmas eve supper, it was awesome. Will definitely make again. Made it like it was written and loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is torte always get compliments and requests for the recipe whenever I serve it. I have been making it for years. It is delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Made it per direction, pretty good. Thin slice the apples and double the cream cheese filling, the best apple pie cheesecake I've had. Also good with pears as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crookston, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
The temperature is too high. Next timeI will try on 375 o 350 at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Yummmmy! Yummmmy! Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States