Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by kat
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Made this tonight and everyone loved it! it was easy to put together, ingredients on hand, looked so pretty. I did leave out the almonds because my children don't like nuts, but I didn't miss them at all! My SIl told me I should make this for christmas dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Just happened to see this recipe and thought it sounded good. Boy, is it ever good!! I used 3 apples and 1 asian pear and microwaved them as other reviewers suggested. I also used 12 ounces of cream cheese. This dessert is also very easy to put together. I didnt have a springform pan so I used an 11 x 7 baking dish. It fit in there perfectly. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made this for Sunday night pot roast dinner. I LOVE THIS RECIPE. First of all, it was SO EASY. Second, it looked so PRETTY. Third, it tasted WONDERFUL! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used only 4 apples, and I microwaved the apples for 3 minutes. I will be making this often. Thanks much, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I've made this recipe a couple of times. I microwaved the apples for 3 minutes before cooking, as suggested. I also brush on 1 tablespoon of melted butter over the top so the apples brown nicely and don't dry out. Tastes delicious with almonds, but equally wonderful with pecans. Always a hit!! Don't hesitate to try this recipe! So easy and foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I have made this torte twice now and have gotten rave reviews from both groups I served it too. It was pretty easy but elegant dessert. Looked like I bought it at a bakery. Will keep this on the top shelf of all time favorite apple recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was yummy torte! Great for cream cheese lover!! The only thing I'd do differently the next time would be, precook apples or do something for the top... Apple on the top was kind of dried up by baking naked...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
5 star recipe for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I liked that this recipe sounded easy, with beautiful results. Well, it was easier than I expected. I followed the instructions, with the exception of cooking the apples in the mircowave for 3 minutes. I liked the way the photo looked and decided to layer it... from the bottom, to the top, I used crust, filling, apples, filling, and more apples (arranged in a circular pattern on top). We did not have the almonds, and so I decided on a cinnamon sugar sauce. YUM! Got rave reviews from everyone, and they were fighting over who got the last of it. This would be impressive enough for guests. Next time I may glaze it with my Cabernet Sauvignon jelly and use pears, instead of apples. Thank you, Terri, for a wonderful recipe. It will be in my holiday repertoire this season as everyone has already requested it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Very disappointed. I shoul've known when I opened the oven door to add the almonds this wasn't going well. Juice leaked from the springform pan & burnt. Then when I tried to remove from pan, after it cooled, the crust stuck to the bottom, & things fell apart when transferring to a plate. The crust is good & I could use that in other desserts. The filling leaves a bad taste in your mouth. It gave me a "flashback" to cheesecake, which I don't like. (very overpowering taste) The apples were hard & I did nuke in microwave, as suggested & even in small quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States