Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Amazing! Great with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. I pulsed the crust mixture in my food processor and used ice cold butter. I only used 4 apples, sliced 1/4 inch thick and layered them in concentric circles. I also microwaved the apples 2 minutes before layering. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I don't really care for desserts with fruit so this one totally surprised me. Absolutely delicious, will definitely make it again. I used granny smith apples which were a little underbaked after 25 minutes so next time will bake a little longer. Otherwise, wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEYIMAUSER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was excellent -- would highly recommend it. The only change I made was to follow the advice of others and sub almond extract for the vanilla in the crust. Plus I cut the butter in with a pastry cutter, rather than creaming. Anyway, the presentation was great, as was the taste. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Great recipe! Entire family loved it. Used 3 large granny smith apples - sliced thin and also microwaved for 2.5 minutes before adding to pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made this for a card club get together. Tasted good, and I got requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julieka

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
AMAZING! Very similar to those that I had growing up in Germany. For those that are saying that there is too much crust or that the apples are not cooked enough, they obviously don't know what a bavarian torte is, and were just expecting an apple pie. The only change I made was instead of tossing the apples in so much sugar, I just sprinkled the cinnamon on top and cut the sugar to about 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very good. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and microwaved the apples for about 2 minutes. I doubled all the rest of the recipe and used an 11in spring form tart pan. I had to turn my oven down quite a bit and cooked a little longer, so not to scorch the top. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SheilaP1
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Well, here's a strange one. My husand HATES butter - won't eat anything with butter in it, even if he can't taste it - just knowing there's butter in something will keep him away. So I didn't tell him there was butter in the crust and was nervous because I found it very buttery tasting - but he loved it and didn't mention anything about it being buttery tasting. I asked him to rate it and he gave it 5 stars!! The irony is I LOVE butter - and yet I found the crust tasted much too buttery and the filling was just OK. I gave it 3 stars. I've made much better desserts. So I chose the happy medium and gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
recommend making the crust thicker to get more of the taste. Also be sure to microwave the apples long enough before baking them so that they are softer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious!! I did microwave the apples as suggested, and doubled the cream mixture to make more layers. So good, made it for Christmas desert and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodell Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States