Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by mcmeg12
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I got good feedback from everyone who tried the torte. I thought the crust was a bit soggy. The pie also had very good presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Delicious dessert!! Agree w/ others to pre-cook apples in microwave because they are crunchy otherwise. Used 7 or 8 Granny Smith's piled high - they will sink once finished baking. Have made twice & both turned out great. Next time I'll try canned pears (per another reviewer's suggestion) - easier than slicing apples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
One of my favorite fruits are apples. I have MANY apple recipes and have made all of them many times. This Bavarian Torte is definitely one of my favorites. I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the cream cheese mixture and cut back on the apples. I used four medium-large apples and had some left over. I mixed the cinnamon and sugar with the apples and microwaved them for 3 minutes before placing them on the torte. I increased the vanilla and cinnamon because I enjoy both. The result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was very easy to make, tasted wonderful and looked amazing! Beautiful dessert to serve when you have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Tasty but it was hard to tell when it was done. I did also pre cook the apples but they did still turn out slightly crunchy. Still a very nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
this is delicious! my family loves it. whenever i make it, it's gone in five minutes. i doubled the recipe of the filling because it was too crunchy the first time i made it and then it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
With the exception of the almonds, which I don't use, this is a recipe I've used for 25 years because it's so darn good! This can easily be doubled; just spread the dough into the bottom and sides of a 9x13" pan. If my gooped, splattered, and dog-eared recipe card offers any proof, this classic recipe is just plain delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I love this! I have made it three times and it comes out perfect every time. I don't change the recipe at all but I omit the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Very good! I made this for Christmas Eve and it was a big hit. Might have needed to bake a little bit longer - needed to set up a little more. Was hard to cut without the apples sliding around. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraann6

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Wonderful, thank you. I made this for a holiday gathering, and it was gone before all the guests could get through the buffet line. Simple and satisfying. And thanks to all the other reviewers for the "precook your apples" tip; that's a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janeway

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States