Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Just awesome. The only alteration I made was to have the crust come up the sides of my pan an inch, other than that, I didn't change a darn thing and next time I make it, the only thing I will change is how much I make...soooooo good! So very very good! Oh, and I used Granny Smith apples. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
WONDERFUL DESSERT! I saw this recipe on another site and was excited to try it. I used canned pears as another person suggested because I wanted something just a little different. WOW! It was so beautiful, and so delicious. I got so many compliments when I served this on New Year's Day. Great recipe! Don't know why anyone would have trouble making it. It was simple to put together. It really couldn't be easier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
So easy and EVERYONE will LOVE this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anttwerp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Logan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Perfect and authentic as is. My guests also thought that I bought it at a fancy bakery. For other fruit variations, just replace apples with peaches, pears or berries. If you are using unripe/hard apples you may want to pre-cook like the others suggested for a few minutes. My ripe apples were perfect uncooked and allowed a regular knife to make perfect slices when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Yummy! This was a wonderful ending to the holiday meal I left off the almonds, due to allergies, and it was still superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delicious dessert!!!! I made this for Christmas and it was a winner. The recipe was easy to follow and the end product was very tasty. My husband woke up the next morning heading straight for this dessert. I will be making this again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this and unless I did something wrong , it did not turn out like the picture. It was flat and the apples on top were starting to burn and were still not cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Beaty
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
wow!i just made one yesterday and boy was it good!:).my brother even said that i could sell it and that it was unique!and trust me, my brother is very picky,my mother also liked it and she's not a dessert eater too!up thumbs!:) i already ate two slices myself!:). The crust was good, i did change a few procedures, i did microwaved the apples like everybody else suggested but only for 1 minute, i also sliced the apples thinly since i prefer thin apples when it comes to pies and that way it won't stuff the cheese filling!i also pushed the dough to the sides because it was a lot for just the bottom of the pan and since i was only using a 8" spring form pan. I was only able to use 2 regular fuji apples, i didn't use the granny smith since the cream cheese already has a slight tangy flavor. I also drizzled the syrup produced by the apples, cinnamon and sugar on to:). this is really a great recipe and i did made a few tinsy mistakes and yet it was still perfect!so anyone can do this!:)great for impressing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this for a dessert bake off contest we had at work to raise funds for a charity. I won first place and got a day off with pay. Yea!!! I did alter the recipe a bit, I increased the cream cheese filling by 1.5 which seemed to be perfect. After baking the 25 minutes, I removed from the oven, sprinkled a little bit of sugar/cinn mix on top. I garnished with pecan halves and marasinho cherries to make it more festive. The only problem I can find with this recipe is that the crust gets a little bit too hard and is hard to cut thru but it does taste wonderful. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to correct that? This is a wonderful recipe, super easy and tasty. I will be making this again in about two weeks for our christmas party and the guys who work with my husband are requesting one too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have a recipe just like this except I use pears. I also use 1 1/2 and sometimes double the filling. Try this for a spin on the crust: Drop the flour to 3/4 cup and raise the vanilla extract to 1/2 tsp. Add 2/3 cup chopped walnuts to the mix and press into the pan. I think you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States