Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Amie
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I simmered the apples with the sugar/cinnamon until they were soft. I recommend taking this extra step otherwise, your apples may end up being too crunchy. I also doubled the cheesecake layer. I left out the almonds due to allergies. I followed the rest of the recipe as written and it turned out wonderful. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious! This one deserved each star I gave it! Each layer complimented the next one, and I had a lot of fun making it. DB loved it, this is something I would make if I really wanted to impress someone! Will save this recipe to use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was soo sweet can use half sugar in all three steps. Also I will precook apples next time double filling and I did not use spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was delicious and the only changes I made were to use brown sugar instead of white sugar in the crust and the filling and maple flavoring (personal pref) I microwaved the apples like another reviewer suggested and divided the apples so 1/2 went under the filling and the other 1/2 went on top. Great recipe, thumbs up across the table so I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was wonderful! I made the recipe as written except for omitting the almonds only because I didn't have any. It was still awesome! I would make again and I think it would be great with other fruit as well. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Best dessert I've ever made. Ever. I cut waaaay down on the apples (4 apples sliced was overkill- I think I may have used two), but other than that no changes were made. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanaya K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Just awesome. The only alteration I made was to have the crust come up the sides of my pan an inch, other than that, I didn't change a darn thing and next time I make it, the only thing I will change is how much I make...soooooo good! So very very good! Oh, and I used Granny Smith apples. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
WONDERFUL DESSERT! I saw this recipe on another site and was excited to try it. I used canned pears as another person suggested because I wanted something just a little different. WOW! It was so beautiful, and so delicious. I got so many compliments when I served this on New Year's Day. Great recipe! Don't know why anyone would have trouble making it. It was simple to put together. It really couldn't be easier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
So easy and EVERYONE will LOVE this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anttwerp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Logan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Perfect and authentic as is. My guests also thought that I bought it at a fancy bakery. For other fruit variations, just replace apples with peaches, pears or berries. If you are using unripe/hard apples you may want to pre-cook like the others suggested for a few minutes. My ripe apples were perfect uncooked and allowed a regular knife to make perfect slices when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States