Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is delicious! I cooked it a tad bit too much, while trying to get the almonds to look toasted. Maybe that's why it fell apart a little. I will most definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
The flavors in this pie are very complimentary. Will definitely make this again. Didn't make any changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chels
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is amazing! Tastes almost as good as the ones I had in Germany. The only difference is that they use quark which I find is milder and softer than cream cheese, still delicious though! I didn't change a single thing, although I did find that 3 apples was enough to cover the top of the torte. I plan on trying variations using pears or raspberries as toppings. The only suggestion I have is to not pack down the crust as much as I did as it makes it a little on the chewier side, the edges however turned out with a better texture and consistency. This one is going in the recipe book! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Photo by Aimee Along-Youn
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
The crust was buttery and sweet, really good flavor. The cream cheese filling was creamy. I find 6 apples too much, did not microwave as suggested by others and it turned out fine (but then again I used only 2 large apples) topping: used walnuts instead of almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Along-Youn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made as written, using 5 small granny smith apples sliced thin. I thought the end result was fabulous. I only wish the directions were a little clearer. I woudl recommend softening the butter and cream cheese before trying to mix them. Also, according to another recipe almost identical to this one it says to refrigerate for a few hours prior to serving. I did not know that and didn't plan better....ate ours warm tonight but still enjoyed it. Can't wait to try it cool and more set tomorrow! This was my first time making and eating any torte of this kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Yummy!! Other variations: add dried craisins; use a refrigerated pie crust and bake in 9" pie plate; substitute peaches for the apples; use a mixture of apples, pears, and peaches; substitute walnuts for almonds; drizzle warmed caramel sauce over all...lots of ideas to this versatile dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I'm amazed at how easy and quick this was to put together, the only change I make was using fresh pears. My DH was in heaven all I heard was yum you can make this again, delicious. I had a tiny peice and liked it too, thanks for the recipe. Next time I may double the cream cheese layer:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Two great desserts in one. Cheesecake with an apple pie topping. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pily
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Looks IMPRESSIVE and tastes FANTASTIC. Used a deep pie dish. Prebaked crust 5 min. before adding the filling. Used a 300 gr. tub of lowfat cream cheese with two small eggs. Kept everything else the same. I think substituting with almond extract will improve it even further for my next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I would actually say 4 1/2 stars. I think I may be able to cut the sugar a little bit but it was excellent. Reminded me somewhat of a very thin cheesecake with a great crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States