Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was really good! I cut back on the apples as suggested by others (I used 4) and I cooked them for 3 mins, at 1 min intervals, on high, stirring after every min. Turned out great! We served it with home made vanilla ice cream, and it was fantastic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I tried to follow recipe as closely as I could except for some additions: -Added 1/4 tsp almond extract to both mixtures. - precooked apples as others suggested (and let me tell u, this was necessary!)in a skillet with a splash of water -Used red delicious applesand added less than 1/4 cups sugar to them. -Added a bit of milk to almondsbefore adding them to the top and sprinkled them with a bit of sugar on top of tart. Baked 10 minutes and then drizzled the top with the leftover liquid from the apples and returned to bake five more minutes to caramelize. TURNED OUT AMAZING!! i AM SURE IT WOULD HAVE TURNED OUT GREAT IF I HAD FOLLOWED RECIPE AS IS AS LONG AS I PRECOOK THE APPLES THOUGH! UPDATE: A couple days later, some of the guests that tried the tart admitted to loving the filling part, but still the topping was not that great. Still not caramelized and cooked through enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this a couple months back and I just saw I forgot to review it! This dessert is just delish! I pretty much went by the recipe except when reading the reviews, I thought I should cook my apples just a touch before adding over top. I sauteed them in a skillet with butter and the cinnamon and sugar mixture. This gave them a nice carmelized sauce. I also, when adding the almonds, made up more of a streusel type topping with some butter, flour, brown sugar, and the almonds to sprinkle on. For the crust, along with the vanilla, I added in some almond extract to give it added flavor. I ate this both warm and cold. I think I liked it best cold and served with ice cream! For me, it didnt have enough apples. So I definitely will up the apple amount next time, maybe even the cream cheese mixture as well. Thanks for the recipe! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I was super excited to try this recipe, but was bummed by the results. I give this 3 stars based on mine, but since I altered the recipe based on other reviews I had to provide an extra star for making (unneccessary) changes. I think it would have been better written as is. I decreased the apples and doubled the cream cheese filling as recommended by so many, but wasn't nearly as impressed as I was expecting. Not enough apples and too much cream cheese, almost like a bland apple topped cheesecake (made with above changes). I think it would have been much better, and the apple torte I was hoping for, by leaving a thinner cream cheese layer and loading up more apples on top, probably exactly as written. This is the first time I made a recipe based on recommended changes, and then found it was probably better as is written. This was for in-laws Easter brunch... I am the dessert master queen and try to live up to my expectations every time I make them something and was almost dissapointed to be serving this the way it turned out. * PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A GOOD RECIPE, I SHOULD HAVE TRIED AS IS FIRST BEFORE MAKING CHANGES. I will try again as written and make a better review then, probably better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Photo by Rory
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
ok, this is awesome, however i didn't follow the recipe as written, because i still don't know how to cut the almonds, so i used pecans, and i used three times the cinnamon specified, i made this for mothers day because mom and i love cinnamon, it was a total success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rory

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Super yum! After reading people got crunchy results with their apples I decided to peel, slice and cook my apples in some water before I used them in the recipe. I cooked the apples until they were soft but not mushy, then I let them drain in a colander. Once they were very drained, I added the sugar and the cinnamon. This turned out really, really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
fantastic result with a very easy recipe, ready in a flash. I must admit I was skeptical about the crust (afraid it would be crumbly and dry), but how wrong I was! and the apples were nicely caramelized... all in all, this is a great discovery and I will keep it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was very good. Will definitely make it again. My husband and I both enjoyed it. It is rich, but not too sweet. Next time, I think I will follow some of the others and cook the apples a little, since the torte was a little difficult to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Excellent! I used pears because we had an abundant amount, and I made sure to simmer them down with the cinnamon and sugar.. prior to assembling. When you simmer them for about 10 minutes, it gives off a lot of the liquid. Just be sure to use a spatula/spoon that strains the liquid, when you begin to place them on the torte. I decreased the sugar in each layer by half, and it still was plenty (although, I like things not so sweet!). :) I pre-baked the crust for 5 minutes, allowed to cool, and then topped with the cheese mixture and apples(pears). Even so, the crust was still very soft - so if you prefer a crisper crust, you may want to pre-bake it longer. This is such a pretty dessert, easy to make, and delicious to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very good. Cook apples &^ pears 3 mins in microwave. Pour syrup over top of torte. Use a little less sugar and butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States