Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I thought this tart was excellent! The crust is just perfect. I made it for a party last night, and I had someone ask me if baking was my career. It really made my day, because someday soon, baking *will* be my career. Anyway, I also popped my apples in the microwave for three minutes to soften them up first, and I really think that's the way to go. I added a little more sugar to the juice left in the bowl afterward and popped it back in the microwave to melt it down. I then used the ensuing goo as a glaze to go on top. I didn't have any almonds, so I skipped that, but it was super delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I just made this for an Oktoberfest party I had at my house and it was gone in no time. Everyone loved it and I have been asked to make it again for Thanksgiving!! It was absolutely phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I've been making this for over 10 years as a fancier version of apple pie. Everyone loves it! You can just sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top of the apples after putting them on the cream cheese filling instead of coating each one individually. I've also doubled it in a 13x9 to feed a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was the best thing I've ever eaten! The cream cheese filling was heaven in my mouth! It was so creamy and delicious, it was very sweet and AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME!!! The only changes I make is to add a tsp of almond extract to the cream mixture and a 1/2tsp. of almond to the crust. AMAZING...everyone I've made this for has asked for the recipe and for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Folks loved this- fancy, without being difficult. The hardest part was peeling and cutting all the apples. We used sweet and tart apples, but next time would skip the tart ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good! Easy to prepare as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Lovely, absolutely lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom 2-3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was so delicious and so pretty! I don't think I've ever made a prettier dessert, this is definitely the one I'll use to impress! I used Granny Smith apples and it only needed 3 of those because they're huge. I sprinkled a little extra sugar on top to counter the tartness of the apples but I don't think it was necessary. In the future I think I will double the cream cheese section--it's just so tasty! I did make this in my largest springform pan, it's probably a 12 incher--I might double the shortbread crust recipe next time too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Wow - I was really pleasantly surprised with this recipe. The writing of the recipe - regarding the making of the crust - was a little misleading, however. I am not such an expert baker that I would have known, for instance, that you really need to cream the butter and sugar together FIRST, until light and fluffy, and THEN add the flour in batches. That will be key for the next time I make this (possibly ASAP for an upcoming brunch!!). I would suggest using 5 apples only but it really depends on how heavily you want to layer them. I also agree with other reviewers: cook the apples for 3 min in the microwave first with the sugar/cinnamon to soften them up and THEN, after baking, poor the remaining cinn/sugar water over the top. Very delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States