Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Brooke
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly; it was super easy and turned out very well. Thank you so much! Oh, I just want to add that initially I was afraid that I had too many apples (I used 4 gigantic apples) because mine weren't nicely layered like I saw other peoples but just piled on top of the cheese mixture. Nevertheless, by the end of the baking process they cooked down giving off quite a bit of liquid, which also corrected itself after cooling. So...although I had a few doubts while putting the torte together and watching it cook, ultimately it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipe is heavenly. I read reviews and the only thing I did do differently was to nuke the apples for 3 min. to ensure that they would be cooked all the way through by the end of the recipes stated times. It was perfect and is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I thought this tart was excellent! The crust is just perfect. I made it for a party last night, and I had someone ask me if baking was my career. It really made my day, because someday soon, baking *will* be my career. Anyway, I also popped my apples in the microwave for three minutes to soften them up first, and I really think that's the way to go. I added a little more sugar to the juice left in the bowl afterward and popped it back in the microwave to melt it down. I then used the ensuing goo as a glaze to go on top. I didn't have any almonds, so I skipped that, but it was super delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I just made this for an Oktoberfest party I had at my house and it was gone in no time. Everyone loved it and I have been asked to make it again for Thanksgiving!! It was absolutely phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I've been making this for over 10 years as a fancier version of apple pie. Everyone loves it! You can just sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top of the apples after putting them on the cream cheese filling instead of coating each one individually. I've also doubled it in a 13x9 to feed a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was the best thing I've ever eaten! The cream cheese filling was heaven in my mouth! It was so creamy and delicious, it was very sweet and AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME!!! The only changes I make is to add a tsp of almond extract to the cream mixture and a 1/2tsp. of almond to the crust. AMAZING...everyone I've made this for has asked for the recipe and for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Folks loved this- fancy, without being difficult. The hardest part was peeling and cutting all the apples. We used sweet and tart apples, but next time would skip the tart ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good! Easy to prepare as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Lovely, absolutely lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom 2-3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States