Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
The consistency was good and moist. The top was too crumbly. I doubled the recipe and didn't change anything except for adding a pinch of salt and an extra cup of granny smith apples...I was already skeptical of the baking soda because it changes the taste of fruit and vegetables, Should have stuck to my instinct.... The apples held their shape very well and one would think wow nice! lots of apples BUT -Still we couldn't taste any of the amazing fresh apples we had added, and the apple aroma and flavor was seriously lacking. I think the amount of cinnamon is overpowering and adding baking powder instead of the baking soda would have kept the flavor...If making apple bars again I would try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemonster

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Had a bag of Macintosh apples in the fridge which were starting to get soft so I decided to make something other than apple crisp (because for some reason I can't for the life of me make an apple crisp that doesn't turn into a soup!). Was a spur of the moment thing, didn't have any butter in fridge nor any apple sauce so used peach sauce that my 1 year old daughter usually has as a snack. And I added some oats as Macintosh apples don't hold their own very well.. Followed the rest of the recipe to a T. Turned out great!!! Perfect with tea. Will definitely make again. Thanks for the great alternative to apple crisp!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Awesome can't say more than that my kids LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I substituted baking powder for the baking soda as another reviewer suggested. I made them in mini muffin tins and put a light cinnamon-roll style glaze on them. Huge Hit!!! Moist and delightful- everyone in my Sunday school class enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was so easy and delicious! I doubled the recipe and used a 9x13" pan and baked for about 45 minutes. I omitted the nuts and substituted oats; next time I think I would add the recommended amount of nuts as well as the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
A very great, basic, standby recipe. No changes needed. Served with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce. Thanks S. Powell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Yummy! Will be making again soon. I did make 1 adjustment. I didn't quite have 1 cup sugar so I used brown sugar to make it a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was solidly ok. It really need some cinnamon and nutmeg...or maybe I needed different apples, but kinda tastless overall. Of course, when served warm wtih vanilla ice cream, no one complained about the flat flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My family and I loved the apple bars. The boys are not fans of nuts. So I left the walnuts out. But topped it with caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States