Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
A delicious dish; after making it for the first time I made the following changes: reduced sugar and butter, added lemon zest and lemon juice and, as I did not have walnuts, added dried cranberries. It came out very well; honestly, I feel that you can definitely get away with less butter (and less sugar if you like your apples slightly tart)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I brought this for a picnic and all my friends loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Splendidly wonderful! I had 3 apples on hand which I wanted to use to bake/make something when I happened on this recipe .. (although I used only 2 of the apples to make this!). These bars are absolutely mouth-wateringly delish! I didn't add chopped walnuts 'coz I didn't have any on hand ... and used 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of the 1 cup white sugar. I still found these rather sweet ... but everyone else in the family found them perfect! Next time, I want to try this with walnuts, less sugar and with the 'Luscious Buttercream Frosting (Submitted by: Land O'Lakes, Inc.) from this website' that another reviewer (Sharon8799) mentioned worked well with these bars! Thanx for sharing S. Powell, these bars are going to go down the generations in my family! :D P.S: My bars were done within 30 minutes ... so do keep an eye on yours to prevent them from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Easy recipe. Tasted alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
this recipe was amasing. I use almond flour in place of reg flour.when rubarb is out of season Iuse raisins.I sub.reg.sugar for splenda.O M G everyone wants the recipe.I also use 9x11 pan instead of 9x9.thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Yummy:) these don't last very long in my house. I'm allergic to nuts, so instead of walnuts, I used about a 1/2C. quick cook oats and about 1/2C. raisins. I also like it with brown sugar crumbled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These were so good and really easy to make! My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was really good, like a very moist apple cake. Added about 1/2 cup more apples and used half brown and half white sugar, and a pinch of cloves and nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I took the advice of another reader and used 1/2 c. of white surgar and 1/4 c. brown sugar. Also added 1/4 c. butterscotch chips. Used 1 1/4 c. flour and 1/2 c of oats. I added 1/2 t. of vanilla and used baking powder instead of soda to make a firmer bar. They taste like apple crisp. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States