Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My family really enjoyed this, I made the following changes, I used 1/4 c applesauce and 1/4 c butter 1/2 c white sugar, 1/4c brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp vanilla extract.Swapped raisins for walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I didn't have any walnuts or pecans on hand so I decided to add crushed Cinnamon Life cereal right before baking. It was AMAZING! The cereal added much needed texture and crunch plus an extra kick of cinnamon. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiraWhit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Awesome. I used 2 cups of apples diced, kept everything else the same. SO yummy! My very picky three year old loves this "cake" - and she's eating her fruit! Can't wait to try it warm with ice cream. A definate favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Very tasty. Used 2c apples and sprinkles some brown sugar over the top before baking. Great flevor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
More of a cake than a bar, but a very good cake! I too added extra apples and also a bit of nutmeg and a splash of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Ditto with what many others have said. Used macoun apples but I think Granny Smith would have been better. Used 1/2 brown sugar, and double the apples - good suggestions. Again, more of a cake than a bar, but held it's shape when cut into squares. Best thing about this recipe? Simple, easy. My 4-y.o. helped me make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
very good and easy to make. I will make again. My husband loved it. I did put brown sugar as suggested by another reviewer. I made a double batch and it was gone in two days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really yummy. The only change I made was to do half white/half brown sugar. Definitely will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Much more apples are needed. I used about 3 cups of apples. I also caramelized the apples before I added them to the badder, which gave the appled much more flavor. I used about 2 TBLSp butter to caramelize and about 1/4 cup brown sugar and the cinnamon called for in the recipe. Then, I used applesause instead of the butter in the recipe and no sugar. I also used instant maple oat packs because that's what I had on hand. I also smashed a banana into it that was very very ripe and had to be used. I came out amazing!!! moist, not too sweet, full of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This turned out very good. I added some quick cook oats & vanilla extract before I added the apples & nuts. And cooked it just a couple of minutes longer then the suggested. My hubby loved them & wants me to get vanilla ice cream to go w/them next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annastasiav

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States