Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very good & easy, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
A lil' on the sweet side but the family loved them !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is just about the best recipe ever. Such a simple recipe that tastes absolutely wonderful. Takes only a few minutes to mix up. I did cut back just a little on the sugar. Thank you for a great recipe, S. Powell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This was very easy to make and quite tasty too. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and still found it to be very pleasant. I didn't add walnuts, for spices I used for cinnamon and nutmeg. Will definitely keep this one in my recipe box. I'm sure my colleagues will enjoy these bars very much when I share it with them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Made it four times this Fall, twice it was doubled and it came out perfectly delicious as written. Not sure why folks are having trouble with the consistency. I've used Granny Smith, Golden Delicious, Ambrosia, and ... not sure what the last kind of apples were ... always delicious! Thanks for this wonderful recipe. I'm wondering now if I can make it with Peaches .... hmmm ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmh221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Very good. More cake like, which we liked. Good flavor and easy to make. I will use this recipe often. My husband is not fond of strong cinnamon flavor, so I did reduce the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon and they were perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
A delicious dish; after making it for the first time I made the following changes: reduced sugar and butter, added lemon zest and lemon juice and, as I did not have walnuts, added dried cranberries. It came out very well; honestly, I feel that you can definitely get away with less butter (and less sugar if you like your apples slightly tart)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I brought this for a picnic and all my friends loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Splendidly wonderful! I had 3 apples on hand which I wanted to use to bake/make something when I happened on this recipe .. (although I used only 2 of the apples to make this!). These bars are absolutely mouth-wateringly delish! I didn't add chopped walnuts 'coz I didn't have any on hand ... and used 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of the 1 cup white sugar. I still found these rather sweet ... but everyone else in the family found them perfect! Next time, I want to try this with walnuts, less sugar and with the 'Luscious Buttercream Frosting (Submitted by: Land O'Lakes, Inc.) from this website' that another reviewer (Sharon8799) mentioned worked well with these bars! Thanx for sharing S. Powell, these bars are going to go down the generations in my family! :D P.S: My bars were done within 30 minutes ... so do keep an eye on yours to prevent them from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Easy recipe. Tasted alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States