Apple Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
"A" for awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very good, so moist and soft! The picture shows a lot of frosting but they were delicious with no kind of topping or glaze. I don't like to leave a rating when I alter the recipe but in this case I didn't have buttermilk or milk. It was such a small amount and they were still fine as one other comment mentioned. The apples make them just different enough from banana bread to make it worth while. Yes, I shredded the apple, the recipe needed the moisture from the shredded apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imapep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
These are delicious. I halved the recipe and made it as written except i used coconut milk, i forgot to add the lemon juice to make it into buttermilk, but i don`t think that had any effect on the taste. I added nothing to the top, but to me it was more muffin then cupcake. The flavors are very nice, and will make these again. Thank you Barbara for this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Light, fluffly, moist cupcakes. This is the recipe I've been looking for. It's almost a foolproof recipe. I modified it with 1 cup AP flour, 1 cup cake flour, 2/3 canola oil instead of shortening, 1/4 cup soured soy milk (with 1/2 tsp vinegar) instead of buttermilk, 1 mashed banana instead of 1 cup, and 3 apples instead of 2. I think they needed more flavour, like more cinnamon and swapping out some white sugar for brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Amazing! Perfect texture- although I'm not sure why they're called cupcakes. They are definitely muffins. Delicious flavor. Followed the recipe exactly. DEFINITELY making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanda Jones
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I had made a substitute, I used non fat greek yogurt and 2/3 1% milk. But I think that made the muffins less cakey. I will try again with just the yogurt. We still loved them. ps I didn't taste banana but my apples tasted awesome LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanda Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Loved these and so did family members who tried them. They have a quite unique flavor. Frosting/icing is really not necessary. Used yogurt instead of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A really lovely flavor. I live abroad and could not get everything noted, so had to substitute oil for shortening (and used plain yogurt for the buttermilk). Because of personal preference, I upped the cinnamon and reduced the nutmeg. I shredded the apples (wish the amount of apples was stated in cups, as apples vary so much in size). I was worried that the banana would overpower, but it did not. They were not pretty muffins, but tasted great. Please note: Halving the recipe gave me only 10 modest size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
EXCELLENT RECIPE:) Made these twice,first time as written ( perfect). The second I only had one small ripe banana,so I added about 1/2 cup of frozen raspberries,slightly thawed............ Came out excellent. Doesn't need frosting,they are yummy without. Thanks for the great recipe:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These were delicious! I made half a recipe and topped them with a cinnamon cream cheese frosting. I made them exactly as written, and wouldn't change a thing. They were moist with just the right balance of apple and banana, and perfectly spiced. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States