Apple Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Loved these and so did family members who tried them. They have a quite unique flavor. Frosting/icing is really not necessary. Used yogurt instead of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A really lovely flavor. I live abroad and could not get everything noted, so had to substitute oil for shortening (and used plain yogurt for the buttermilk). Because of personal preference, I upped the cinnamon and reduced the nutmeg. I shredded the apples (wish the amount of apples was stated in cups, as apples vary so much in size). I was worried that the banana would overpower, but it did not. They were not pretty muffins, but tasted great. Please note: Halving the recipe gave me only 10 modest size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
EXCELLENT RECIPE:) Made these twice,first time as written ( perfect). The second I only had one small ripe banana,so I added about 1/2 cup of frozen raspberries,slightly thawed............ Came out excellent. Doesn't need frosting,they are yummy without. Thanks for the great recipe:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These were delicious! I made half a recipe and topped them with a cinnamon cream cheese frosting. I made them exactly as written, and wouldn't change a thing. They were moist with just the right balance of apple and banana, and perfectly spiced. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
A keeper. For the shortening, used 1/2 apple sauce and 1/2 melted butter. Only used 1 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
they were the best...I did change the sugar ... I used 1/2c splenda and 1/2c brown sugar. and used oil and not shortening. we didn't even frost them. they were moist, and had a great flavor. ty will make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
After reading most of the reviews, no matter how you make this recipe you are sure to be pleased with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Followed some of the suggestions and used oil in place of shortening. I decided to chop the apples because it seemed easier and it turned out fine. Next time i will add less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
these taste fantastic but didn't rise much probly cause i used butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattypickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
We had a ton of apples from our yard so I've been making apple whatever to use them up. Since our apples are a little on the tart side, I increased the sugar by a half cup. I chopped the apples into small chunks instead of shredding. I also used more apple. This did help with the apple flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States