Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This soup blends the best flavors for a wintry day. I used sherry in lieu of red wine and it worked fine. However, I also recommend not draining the can of pinto beans because the added juice stretches the dish. Loved it madly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! I would definitely double the recipe, however, as it served 6 women a cup-sized portion and we all WANTED MORE!!! It is better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This is a great, hearty soup! Very layered and complex flavors, yet pretty simple to make. The morning of meal, I prepared the recipe up to the point of adding the apple/wine/bacon mixture into the soup. Then, I combined everything in my slow cooker. About an hour before serving, I plugged in the slow cooker and set it on low. Very good, and very Italian-tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was definitely an odd combination. Actually, I found this recipe by searching on the random ingredients I had left over from preparing a meal last week. It was actually very good -- though I left out the celery and substituted kidney beans for pinto. Unfortunately I boiled the apple in cooking wine, and along with the bacon and beef stock, this made for a slightly-too-salty soup. But I'd do it again (with unsalted wine!) for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This was a fabulous soup! I served it at a dinner party and everyone wanted the recipe. A bit time intensive, but totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Easy and delicious! did not change a thing! My family loved it! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
The best tomato soup I have ever had!! Husband & boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Thanks Jennifer! As one reviewer said, it has a complex taste which is great - something different. If you followed the directions to a T it has to be great - I sometimes change things and add a little more of what my family likes. We all love bacon so I used a few more slices, then I did saute all vegetables in some of the bacon fat rather than oil. I also used kidney beans since I didn't have pinto beans. It's a keeper and it can definitely be made a day ahead since it is more flavorful the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Made this yesterday morning on a cold snowy day in St. Louis MO. Wonderful soup. Took the advice and sauteed the celery along with the onions and garlic. Didn't use the cheese, as didn't have any on hand. Loved all the flavors and will make again. Thanks Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I was curious about how the sweetness of the apples would harmonize with the other wholesome veggies and bacon. To my suprise and to my picky boyfriend's delight we both absolutely loved the soup with french bread. I added a little more water and the bean liquid b/c it seemed to stewy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States