Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Babzil
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Uh! This is so good! I have had my eyes on this for a while because it sounded interesting and today I finally made it. Absolutely delicious. I browned the bacon in a sauce pan then sauted the onion, garlic and celery in the bacon juice. After this, I followed the recipe exactly. I loved the way the apples smelled as they simmered in the red wine. This is definitely a nice complex soup and the flavours blend so well. It does come out thick and 'stewy' but I think that's how this soup should be. Thank you. I'll be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I made this recipe out of the All Recipes cookbook, "Dinner Tonight". If you don't have one of the All Recipes cookbook you're really missing some wonderful recipes. This one is my favorite. On to the soup: I was skeptical at first, but as I prepared the recipe the aroma filled our home. My husband came inside and asked, "What's that divine aroma?" It really is a deliciously different take on classic ingredients. I did a few things differently, but not by much. Rather than discard the bacon grease I used it to saute' the onion and garlic. I puree'd the stewed tomatoes to give the soup a smooth consistency. I used dry sherry rather than red wine and I added 1 cup of half and half at the end to make it a creamy tomato soup. As you can tell, this is not something you'll make every day. It is very, very rich. But, for special occasions it is wonderful. My husband loved it and so did our guests. I served it with smoky cheddar grilled cheese sandwiches. Wow! The variety of flavors will blow you away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesDiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Good N Easy. Next time I will sauté the Celery with the onion and garlic so it's not quite so crunchy. Of course, bacon flavors so many things wonderfully. But, I think this would even be good without the bacon, for a lot less fat. Love the apples cooked in wine. That gives me lots of ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I am a cook at a local Casino resturant, I am responsible for making fresh soup daily. This soup sold out within an hour of dinner service! not to mention we had soup thieves: general manager, and floor mamnager, supervisor and other staff actually eating the soup before the public really had a chance to eat it. But for the few customer who had a chance they loved it. The waitress' said that some of the customers were hestinatant because of the apple in the soup but were surpisingly happy when the eat it. I myself loved it! and make it every year for thanksgivving and christmas, to shake thehunger pain when waiting for the turkey to be cooked. My family loves it too. I use half granny smith apples and half pink lady apples comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This is a great, hearty soup! Very layered and complex flavors, yet pretty simple to make. The morning of meal, I prepared the recipe up to the point of adding the apple/wine/bacon mixture into the soup. Then, I combined everything in my slow cooker. About an hour before serving, I plugged in the slow cooker and set it on low. Very good, and very Italian-tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! I would definitely double the recipe, however, as it served 6 women a cup-sized portion and we all WANTED MORE!!! It is better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This was a fabulous soup! I served it at a dinner party and everyone wanted the recipe. A bit time intensive, but totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This soup blends the best flavors for a wintry day. I used sherry in lieu of red wine and it worked fine. However, I also recommend not draining the can of pinto beans because the added juice stretches the dish. Loved it madly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was definitely an odd combination. Actually, I found this recipe by searching on the random ingredients I had left over from preparing a meal last week. It was actually very good -- though I left out the celery and substituted kidney beans for pinto. Unfortunately I boiled the apple in cooking wine, and along with the bacon and beef stock, this made for a slightly-too-salty soup. But I'd do it again (with unsalted wine!) for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I love this soup, I've made it several times, once for a party. It's interesting and unique, but simple enough to appease picky tastes. I make 3 small changes: 1. Saute the onions and garlic in a few tbsps of the reserved bacon grease 2. Replace 1 cup of the beef stock with APPLE CIDER! 3. Throw everything into a crock pot for 6 hours on low after the browning the onion/garlic. Just makes the process a bit easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States