Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
MmmmMmmmm, Good! Kind of a mellow soup. Very nice blend of flavors. I did a teetotaler's version, but crushed some grapes in with the apples and 1/4 cup water to make up for absence of wine. Still, though, an excellent soup, I'm sure either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is an unusual blend of flavors that combine to make a delicious soup. I made it as directed except that I sauteed the celery with the onion and I added a little more beef stock. A nice way to use fall apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is pretty yummy. I added a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar to balance the acidity of the canned tomatoes. It's one of those dishes that, once you start, will leave you returning for "just one more spoonful." I will be adding this to my regular household menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was easy, delicious and filling. I will for sure make this more this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was a good hearty soup, but not spectacular. However, I do believe it is because I chose some of the wrong variables. Next time would use a granny smith apple and dice so that the apple retains its flavor (I used Fuji). I would also pick a higher quality bacon and definitely thick cut. Overall a decent soup. Cooking apples in with the wine though - that's a whole new culinary world in itself. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ssharp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was fantastic!! I had an excess of tomatoes and apples so I was looking for a way to use both. Instead of draining the bacon grease I used it to cook the onions, garlic and celery. So YUM! And I used 2 fresh tomatoes in place of the stewed canned tomatoes. Our dinner guests were skeptical but after one bite they were raving about it! Huge hit!!!!! Thank you!! I'm actually making another pot this afternoon because they ate it all! I would definitely double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This soup has a great flavor, very comforting on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I made a couple really minor adjustments, but this soup is awesome! Even my 9 year old nephew loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is delicious! Especially the second day. I thought my family would really balk at the title when I told them what I was making, but all of them (except for my youngest brother because he is quite picky) said it sounded interesting. Plus, they really liked it (oh, except for aforementioned brother). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefnine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Here's some details about my prep of this soup. A few directions were iffy, so I'm including them in my review. I drained & rinsed the beans. I also did not add any salt or pepper. I chopped the bacon into slices before cooking it (so much easier this way). And I omitted the celery because my husband doesn't like it. I also added another 1/2 can of diced tomatoes because it looked like it needed more tomatoes... and it definitely did because the soup only made 4 servings. I used cabernet sauvignon which paired nicely with the tomatoes. This is really scrumptious with many layered flavors but it honestly tasted like a fancier version of a bean & ham soup. It's very simple to make, too, and smells wonderful while cooking. I made hot ham & cheese sandwiches to serve with it and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States