Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is absolutely fantastic! I wish I got to eat it! I'm making this as part of a meal for a family at church who is going through some tough times. I'll be serving it with Winter Fruit Salad from this site and some cranberry rice muffins from the package of Bob's Red Mill white rice flour. I needed a meal that was both gluten and dairy free and found this recipe. I had a ton of apples from the orchard so I figured this, with the salad, would be perfect. The serving size is not correct, unless you are serving 8 tiny people with small appetites. I thought I would have to double it for 9 people and bought the stuff to do that, but then once everything was in the pot I realized that it wasn't going to cut it and had to quadruple it at the last second. I had used up all my beef bouillon cubes and had to add chicken cubes and more water . I threw in one extra can of kidney beans on top of the pinto beans I already had in there. I used 1 c. marsala and 1 c. sherry for the wine. sauteed the apples in the marsala and stirred the sherry into the soup. Like other people, I cooked the onion and garlic in the bacon grease and skipped the oil. I think increasing the servings to 32 would feed 8 to 10 people with average to large appetites. It is a very hearty soup and I'm going to have to make it for myself sometime. I only got to taste a spoonful to make sure it was worthy of serving to other people :) Next time I would just chop the apples instead of slicing them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Oh my goodness...this is good. Even better the next day! I used fire roasted tomotoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Ok.. so this is definitely the best soup I've ever had in my life.. I did make several changes though but the outcome was so phenomenal that I simply have to share. I followed the recipe exactly. At the end, to spruce it up a bit, I added 1 and 1/2 T chili powder, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, 1 t of cinnamon, 2 T of brown sugar and grated some nutmeg. I also added one jalapeno pepper with seeds and the result was outstanding. Very spicy but very good. Try it both ways if you like spice, you will love it. This is now my favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Made the recipe exactly. My husband and I didn't love this. The flavour was good, but perhaps the texture threw us off. Maybe we'd like it as a blended soup, may try again. Rated it four because of flavour, but would have rated 3 because of texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was ok, but not one of our favorites. I'm sure it's just a matter of taste, but to us it reminded us of a slightly sweet minestrone. We all ate our servings, but no one went back for seconds and no one wanted to save the leftovers. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I've been wanting to make this for quite some time and I'm glad I finally did. Try it for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious and filling! I didn't have the red wine, so I used sherry, but the flavor was still great. We ate ours on a snowy day with smoked gouda grilled cheese sandwiches - fantastic and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I needed more broth than the recipe called for and I honestly didn't think the apple added much positive to the soup. It was better the next day in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
People dig when I make this soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilgowilco

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Corinth, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My husband was skeptical, but after trying it, he rated it pretty good. The wine gave the apples a sickly color. Probably won't make it all the time, but it was a fun recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
We liked it. It was very good! That being said, I've only made it the one time. Its not a part of my regular soup rotation. Still looking for recipes to join that circuit! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephiejo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States