Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe is amazingly awesome and easy, full of flavors. Unfortunately the directions aren't real clear so I will share what I did and it turned out great! In step 2 after everything else is added simmer for 20 min. Simmer the apples and wine until the wine is reduced. The apples will taste wonderful and you won't taste the alcohol. Add these to the soup and simmer another 15 minutes and you will have a wonderful dish. oh one last thing, really slice the apples paper thin and in bit size pieces along with the tomatoes, cut those also in bite size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I loved the flavor concept, but I didn't love this soup. I think next time I would make something more like a creamy tomato soup, flavored with bacon and apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
First, I did some things differently. I cooked the bacon in the same pan as everything else and used the bacon grease to cook the onion, garlic AND celery. I knew the celery would be far to crunchy if I didn't cook it with the onion. I'll say it's decent but lacking something. Somehow the flavors just don't come together like you think they will. It's a good enough base that I'll try again but I'll add some more spices and maybe a dollop of creme fraiche and Parmesan when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good flavor, quick, easy and versatile. I simplified by sauteing the celery with the onion and garlic and used precooked bacon crumbles. Doubled the recipe but not the olive oil to reduce fat. I had no pinto beans on hand so subbed a can each of garbanzo and kidney beans. Great winter meal that doesn't have to simmer all day to have full hearty flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Awesome! Most recipes I tweak to my own liking. This one I tried as is and the whole family loved it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Hearty and delicious! This one's going into the regular winter rotation! I made this tonight with minor changes - a can of white beans instead of pintos (I think any 'soup' bean would be fine here) also sauteed celery along with onions in the same pan as the bacon, and used an entire quart of beef broth - 2 cups of broth was a bit too thick of consistency for me. I noticed some comments about this being too sweet, I'm guessing a sweet red wine was used. If you're not familiar with wine and aren't sure what to use, I'd suggest going with a drier red like a cabernet, merlot or pinot noir. Finally, because of the bacon, this recipe didn't need extra salt. A little pepper, some mozzarella and bread made this a 5 star winner for my wife and I. Oh yeah, I'm going to double this next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight and it is nearly impossible to make something that both my husband and daughter like, this was a hit. Very flavorful and filling with few calories and NO carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
When I saw this, I was skeptical but decided to try it after reading the reviews. This soup was fantastic! My family grumbled when I told them but everybody went back for seconds. I took other reviewers suggestions and sauted the onion, garlic and celery in the bacon grease. I also doubled the bacon and used a granny smith apple. This will definitely be a regular meal in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I was feeling lazy so I tried this with Trader Joes low sodium tomato soup (qt) and Merlot. Added a little extra bacon and no broth. It had a rich creamy consistency and oh so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved this!! I did add 2 apples instead of one, and only had light red kidney beans so I used those instead of pinto... but this was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States