Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
All I can say is you should double the recipe!! Outstanding!! Simple to make and soooo delicious you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
My wife and daughter aren't big fans of spicy soups, so I've made it to myself (they got nice tuna one). Had no tomatoes of recommended type, so I took Arrabbiata tomato sauce and it came out absolutely fantastic. Many thanks for recipe, goes straight to my favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Great but I left out the beans and added sauteed mushrooms and little cubes of frozen beef fajita meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was a big and surprising)hit! Followed recipe as stated with one exception. I did not simmer the apples and wine separately. Put everything in one pot and simmered in for about 2 hours. The only change I will make next time is to puree the tomatoes before added them to the soup -- I think it will make a nicer consistency. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Excellent! I prefer more bacon and diced instead of stewed tomatoes, but still excellent with just about any bean too. I like to cube ( 1/4 ") parmesan cheese into the serving dish to cool it to a confortable temperature and melt the cheese, and I believe I'll try fresh spinach next time. Stiil an very tasty recipe as is, it holds up really well with many variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Hubby & I absolutely loved this soup...will make for company...a keeper. Of interest, son, recommended that I cut down on the wine a bit & omit the celery altogether...maybe use celery seed. He said celery ruined the texture. Thanks again for a great recipe.At 65...I need new ideas...for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Followed this exactly! My ONLY mistake was not doubling it! It 'sounds' so weird, but believe me - it is wonderful. Kind of a gourmet vegie soup (sort of). Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was hearty! I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used 14 oz. of canned crushed tomatoes. Will make again, on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
As I was making this I was starting to wonder if it was some kind of joke...it just sounded too weird but the reviews were so good I had to try it. It was SO good...thought I was in a gourmet restaurant!! Didn't know if I was supposed to drain the beans so I didn't! Didn't seem to affect the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was very good. Interesting flavors. Two days later it was even better. I made as directed, but next time I will add an extra apple and maybe try pureeing the tomatoes. I will also make a day ahead of serving. Still a winner just the way it is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States