Apple Avocado Salad with Tangerine Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I love this salad. My company loved this salad. The only thing i did differently was not to juice the mandarin oranges. I used canned mandarins and purreed them in my hand chopper. Tasted delicious in the salad. Also added 1 tsp of honey to the dressing. Great flavour combo's in this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
The citrus vinaigrette is a nice counterbalance to the salad, providing just a touch of needed acidity to the richness of the salad componets. I did add a pinch of sugar despite having used a meyer lemon (could have been the oranges that were less sweet than expected), but otherwise followed the recipe. ~Tip to take the 'bite' out of raw red onion : Blanch sliced onion 15-20 sec in boiling water, then shock in ice water; chop as needed~. Thanks Donna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
this is a good recipe although i baked my walnuts w/ brown sugar and grand marnier for 15 minutes at 200 until crunchy.. fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This salad was good, but it didn't taste like I thought it would. I made 3 changes. 1. I added salt & pepper to the dressing to give it a bit more flavor. 2. I also used canned mandarin oranges instead of nectarines. 3. Instead of 1/2 a lemon, I used the juice of a whole lemon. All of the tastes together was very interesting. I paired it with a very spicy chicken dish I prepared. It was a nice cool salad paired with a spicy dish. I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This was great! I didn't exactly follow directions, though. I used romano lettuce, fetta cheese, walnuts, tomatoes and avacado just thrown together with this dressing. The dressing was fabulous, and it can be used with any salad, as I proved with my random concoction. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
WOW !! This salad rules! Light,and totally flavorful. I also used candied walnuts-pan toasted with grand marnier and splenda brown sugar.Yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Everyone loved this salad! I used feta instead of blue cheese and people raved! The dressing was great but I would use one orange instead of two. The lemony flavor of it is what makes it so good. Great combination of flavors though, nuts in salad are always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I brought this to a big pot-luck dinner party, and everyone was talking about it. They all wanted to know who made the salad. Everyone agreed that it was a really unique combination, but that all the flavors really worked well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
The perfect salad to accompany a dinner for guests. I added more avocado than indicated, but that's my preference. Also, I candied the walnuts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This received raves when I served... I was very surprised how well the tangerine juice mixed with the Olive Oil. I juiced a number of tangerines to make this and found a lot of dressing leftover - not sure why. Anyhow, this will be used again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States