Apple Avocado Salad with Tangerine Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Absolutely wonderful! This recipe lends itself to add so much of your own things. Here is what I did: -Added candied walnuts (coated them with milk, sugar and cinnamon - boiled) -Used two granny smith apples -Added balsamic vinegar and sugar to the dressing -Used feta cheese instead of blue cheese -Also added grilled chicken strips and made a whole meal out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
oh..this salad was fantastic! My sister is a definite salad critic and she just loved the dressing!! uuwww..it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This salad isn't bad, but it didn't wow us. Bf liked it and finished it, but I didn't eat it all. I'm not sure if it's bc of the blue cheese, but it wasn't my favorite. I'd have prefered a different dressing as well. I like tangier flavors, and it didn't quite get there for me. Still, it's a great combo of fruit and veggies so I'll try it again with a different dressing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
At first glance, I thought the combination of ingredients seemed a bit odd. But let me tell you, my husband and I just had this salad for dinner tonight and we LOVED it! The tangerine dressing is absolutely delicious, light, and refreshing. I used clementine juice instead of the mandarine oranges but otherwise followed the recipe to a tee. Hubby thought craisins would be good in the salad too and I agree. This is one salad I would proudly serve to family and friends. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I made a few changes which made this recipe is great! I switched the the bleu cheese for mild cheddar and added dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Delish! I used OJ instead of juicing mandarins, and I threw the mandarins right into the salad. Very easy and very tasty! I'll do this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Verty tasty and the dressing works well on other salads as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I didn't care so much for this: the dressing was delicious, but the salad itself tasted a little off to me. I'm not a huge salad eater, but I need one for a dinner party and I thought that, judging from some of the reviews, I'd like this one. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
One of the best salads I've had. I don't often finish the first course, but this salad was the exception. I made a few changes though. I was more in the mood for feta so that's what I used, cut in decent size bits. I used toasted pecan pieces, not walnuts. I slighly increased the lemon juice, lemon zest, and olive oil for the dressing and slightly increased the pecans, apple, avocado and cheese; also added salt and pepper which it needed. I think with this salad, more and bolder is better. With that said, I will make this dish over and over again, it's fabulous, great flavors and textures. My guests went back for more and I had to remind them that there was a main course. A big hit indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
this is my favorite salad i've found on this recipe so far! the dressing is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsruiz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dousman, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States