Apple Avocado Salad with Tangerine Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I loved the combination of apple and avocado. The dressing was good, but between the juice and the zest in the dressing and salad, there was too much of it. A little too much red onion. The nuts and cheese were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This dressing is delicious! I escpecially liked that it didn't have sugar or vinegar in it, which most dressings do. The salad is good as well (really like pears in this salad subbed for the apples) but will use the dressing again and again on various kinds of salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I think the dressing would have been just as good, and less fattening, had I omitted the oil and added extra mandarin juice. This was such a sweet refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
The citrus vinaigrette is a nice counterbalance to the salad, providing just a touch of needed acidity to the richness of the salad componets. I did add a pinch of sugar despite having used a meyer lemon (could have been the oranges that were less sweet than expected), but otherwise followed the recipe. ~Tip to take the 'bite' out of raw red onion : Blanch sliced onion 15-20 sec in boiling water, then shock in ice water; chop as needed~. Thanks Donna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I hosted a bbq for my college graduation and this salad was the hit of the party. Everyone wanted the recipe. I would never think to use some of these ingredients together but it was truly delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Good, excellent dressing. Added bacon and used a rougher type of green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I used less lettuce and more apple and I candied pecans by toasting them with brown sugar and bourbon. I found the dressing rather sweet. Strangely, the blue cheese was completely drowned out by it. If I make it again I won't use any onion as I found it clashed with the rest of the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I marinated all of the ingredients (except the avocado and greens) in a container for several hours before mixing the ingredients together. I also used a variety of apples. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used a whole lemon then added a splash of white wine vinegar. Used canned mandarins and blended then strained. Tossed in carrots and some red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I've made this twice now and it is absolutely fabulous! I put the blue cheese and dressing on the side so people can add as much as they like and toss the avocado/apples with the lemon zest before tossing with the lettuce to prevent browning. The dressing is perhaps the best part of this, so fresh but not overly sweet...but as a warning the garlic really comes out by the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States