Apple Avocado Salad with Tangerine Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This salad didn't work for me. Thought it sounded good in theory, but the dressing was all wrong. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Such a delightful little salad bursting with citrus flavour!! I used feta and pecans because they were handy. I followed another reviewer's tip and toasted the nuts (about 1/4 cup-I scaled down for a smaller crowd) w brown sugar (about 1 T) and grand marnier (1 T) at 200 for 15 mins. I used a Gala apple which is probably the only thing I would change. For the dressing, I used a large can of mandarin oranges, drained & juiced in my food processor. I included the pulp. Hubs raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Salad was good but i'd use a different dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This salad is absolutely DELICIOUS! I can make it in whatever ratios we want, just superb the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Wow. That dressing was amazing. Like others, I used drained mandarin oranges from a can (20 oz) and even so, it was to die for. I never woudl have thought of a salad like this. Thanks so much. Just beautiful! And easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
A bit more work than some salads, but worth the effort. I suggest adding more blue cheese to balance the sweet and savory. The dressing is a bit thin, but fresh and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tuesday
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
The tangerine dressing was a refreshing change from the normal vinegar/lemon/oil combos I come across. As with all salads that ask for fresh red onion it had a "bit" here and there but Ill definitely make it again! I'm not a huge fan of blue cheese and so I used feta and thought it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The best salad ever! The salad dressing goes very well with the blue cheese, and it actually is only good with this salad. My fiance loves it and it always receives good reviews when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I loved the combination of apple and avocado. The dressing was good, but between the juice and the zest in the dressing and salad, there was too much of it. A little too much red onion. The nuts and cheese were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This dressing is delicious! I escpecially liked that it didn't have sugar or vinegar in it, which most dressings do. The salad is good as well (really like pears in this salad subbed for the apples) but will use the dressing again and again on various kinds of salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States