Appetizer Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Wasn't crazy about this - thought it was a bit boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Lately we've been making this about once a week. I make a couple little changes to make the recipe spicier and I serve it over linguine. I use a riesling for the wine, add a can of petite diced tomatoes with jalapenos to make it chunkier, and at least double the red pepper flakes. I also add about 1/4 - 1/2 tbsp of salt which really brings out the flavor. For the linguine I boil it until about 2-3 minutes before it's done and then drain it. Once I take the mussels out of the sauce and the butter melts I add the linguine and let it finish cooking in the sauce. It really picks up the flavor. This is a great recipe, we eat it all the time and it never gets old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is super easy and tasty! Make sure to clean the mussels first. Soak for 20 minutes in cold cold cold water with a few tablespoons of cornmeal. The cornmeal helps the mussels to spit out the grit and salt. Then take a sturdy brush and scrub grit and barnacles off. The recipes is awesome as is and the changes we made are simply for our tastes and what we have around the house. Thank you for the amazing recipe, I have had rave reviews over it! Since we have made it a few times we have made the following changes: Instead of butter we use olive oil and saute the garlic before adding the rest of the ingredients. We tend to add a lot more garlic and pepper and some healthy dashes of oregano. We add a can of tomatoes with the juice instead of tomato juice, and after the mussels are done, I remove them and add a can of tomato paste. It makes a thicker sauce and we serve everything over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
YUM! I love this recipe! I added a drained can of tomatoes like other reviewers. So simple and so delicious! Glad I bought a French baguette! The spice from the red pepper flakes is really nice. Thanks for sharing, Casey52!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was my first time cooking mussels. It was really quite easy and I will be making them again. I found this recipe tasty and will use it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and do not change a thing... it is delicious!!! Just remember a baguette to soak up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is delicious. I used Clamato Bar Tender recipe juice...Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This recipe is absolutely fantastic!! I used this recipe with diced tomatoes the first time I made mussels and it was a huge hit! (I made a triple recipe and the whole platter was gone within minutes!) I would highly suggest this recipe to anyone I cant wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was my first time making mussels. I loved them. They were better than most of the mussels I've gotten in restaurants. I will use this recipe forever, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States