Appetizer Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very tasty, I mixed it up a bit to use what I had on hand. V8 juice instead of Clamato, and dry vermouth instead of wine. Could have used a bit more red pepper in my opinion but very delicous for a lunch on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I make this bi-weekly as it is my boyfriends fave. I make only a few changes - i skip the reduction part AND skip the butter (I've done it a couple of times-but don't notice much/any difference) - add more clamato, NO tomato juice BUT I do add one large can of diced tomatoes (drained...the ones with the italian seasoning already mixed in are great!!). I also use the extra spicy clamato - which gives it an extra kick. I serve it more like a 'Fish Stew' in a large bowl with a baguette - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Very good recipe! I added extra clam juice, garlic powder and cayenne to kick it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Great recipe! My boyfriend and I always order mussels in red sauce when we go out to Italian restaurants so for a special treat, I thought I'd try making them at home. Success! I made a few changes as some had suggested. I was pretty liberal with the measurements of the the white wine, clam juice and tomato juice. I added some diced tomatoes, fresh parsley and basil, salt/pepper, minced onions and a little more garlic. This, a salad with oil/vinegar and a loaf of baguette and you got yourself dinner. Can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
In terms of ease and presentation - excellent. Taste -- average. Seemed dull to us. Next time I will make the sauce with additional spices, cook the seafood by itself and pour the sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is so great! It's yummy, quick, easy, and inexpensive! It was my first time making mussels and they were perfect. My husband loves mussels so I made this as part of our Valentine's dinner and we both loved it! I couldn't find the tomato & clam cocktail juice, so I mixed regular tomato juice with clam juice. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Surprisingly tasty way to cook and eat mussels! I couldn't find tomato clam cocktail, so I just used tomato cocktail. I love mussels, and thought the tomato with this recipe might taste weird, but it was a peppery tomato flavor and turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a fantastic and simple recipe. It was the first time I have made mussels and they came out perfect. I didn't have regular tomato juice so I used V-8 and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This dish is awesome - with modifications, as a main course. I steamed the mussels separately, while the sauce was reducing. To bulk up the sauce, I added cherry tomatoes and mushrooms (both halved), some cayenne pepper and more garlic. Once the mussels were done, I drained them and poured the sauce over the top. It was absolutely amazing and is now tops on my list for mussels. Didn't even need bread, it was substantial and yummy on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States