Appetizer Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
One of my favorite all time recipes, outstanding reviews every time. I add a can of olive oil and garlic flavored diced tomatoes to make for chunkier dipping. Also I cut all the butter out as the flavor is enough on its own. I serve it with toasted baguette (brush with garlic powder and butter before putting it in the oven if you want).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DPS3MONGOOSE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
Great flavour with the tomatoe and clam juice cocktail. I added a can of diced tomatoes to it and will add more of the tomatoe and clam juice, the hubby likes to soak up the juice with a baguette or sour dough. I didn't realize how easy it would be to make. Might even add some cayenne pepper to give it a little bite. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This recipe is absolutely amazing. The mussels were easy and quick to prepare . . .and tasted delicious. I used Clamato and added a bit more clam juice, and the mussels just sucked up all the flavors. The dipping sauce created at the end was a wonderful touch. I suggest using New Zealand mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very tasty! I only used 0.5 cups of wine to 1 cup of Clamato, as I was running low on wine. Besides, I wanted the main flavour to be the Clamato... I also added some salt & few hearty dashes of Tabasco sauce to the liquid before cooking the mussels. (My idea was to make the broth like a spicy Bloody Ceasar cocktail.) The clamato really gives the mussels a kick that is a nice change from the classic garlic/wine French method. I did use the butter in the recipe, but I find it doesn't thicken the sauce that much anyway, and it almost tasted better before I added the butter, so this step will be optional for me in the future. I had lots of leftovers, so will add some diced tomatoes & tomato paste to the mussel meat and broth and turn it into a pasta sauce another night. What a great way to enjoy mussels, thanks for the recipe -- I will be sure to make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Absolutely Fabulous. The flavor, appearance and ease of preparation make this dish simply delicious. I made only minor changes: 1 cup clam/tomato juice and 1/2 cup white wine(instead of 3/4C of each), I did add 1 can of chopped tomatoes as recommended by another reviewer and I reduced the liquid before adding the mussels. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
I made this recipe without altering the directions at all and they were excellent! Make sure you have a BIG loaf of french bread on hand to sop up the juices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This was perfect and unbelievably easy to make. I use the leftover sauce on my pasta afterwards too. My only problem is how it always boils over the top. I have to stand on top of it and as soon as it starts bubbling, shut it down. I'd love someone's help on this because I hate cleaning my stove top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This rates 5 stars on all counts. Healthy, easy, inexpensive (for seafood), quick, and delicous. The broth is wonderful. Way to good to be just the appetizer. Add a salad and crusty bread for sopping up the broth and you have a complete meal. If you have access to fresh mussels, this recipe is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I used this recipe the first time I made mussels and it worked out wonderfully! We ate the mussels so fast as they were so yummy. The sauce is delicious, we always dip our bread into it. We've made this dish many times now and we love it. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Outstanding! This is an excellent and easy recipe to whip up. I'm thinking about adding a few crushed tomatoes next time to give the french bread a little more to dip with. Top Notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States