Appetizer Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Absolutely Fabulous. The flavor, appearance and ease of preparation make this dish simply delicious. I made only minor changes: 1 cup clam/tomato juice and 1/2 cup white wine(instead of 3/4C of each), I did add 1 can of chopped tomatoes as recommended by another reviewer and I reduced the liquid before adding the mussels. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
One of my favorite all time recipes, outstanding reviews every time. I add a can of olive oil and garlic flavored diced tomatoes to make for chunkier dipping. Also I cut all the butter out as the flavor is enough on its own. I serve it with toasted baguette (brush with garlic powder and butter before putting it in the oven if you want).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DPS3MONGOOSE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Outstanding! This is an excellent and easy recipe to whip up. I'm thinking about adding a few crushed tomatoes next time to give the french bread a little more to dip with. Top Notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
I made this recipe without altering the directions at all and they were excellent! Make sure you have a BIG loaf of french bread on hand to sop up the juices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This rates 5 stars on all counts. Healthy, easy, inexpensive (for seafood), quick, and delicous. The broth is wonderful. Way to good to be just the appetizer. Add a salad and crusty bread for sopping up the broth and you have a complete meal. If you have access to fresh mussels, this recipe is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I used this recipe the first time I made mussels and it worked out wonderfully! We ate the mussels so fast as they were so yummy. The sauce is delicious, we always dip our bread into it. We've made this dish many times now and we love it. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This recipe is absolutely amazing. The mussels were easy and quick to prepare . . .and tasted delicious. I used Clamato and added a bit more clam juice, and the mussels just sucked up all the flavors. The dipping sauce created at the end was a wonderful touch. I suggest using New Zealand mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
Great flavour with the tomatoe and clam juice cocktail. I added a can of diced tomatoes to it and will add more of the tomatoe and clam juice, the hubby likes to soak up the juice with a baguette or sour dough. I didn't realize how easy it would be to make. Might even add some cayenne pepper to give it a little bite. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States