Appetizer Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Great! Added a can of tomatoes as suggested by others and doubled the garlic. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very tasty! I only used 0.5 cups of wine to 1 cup of Clamato, as I was running low on wine. Besides, I wanted the main flavour to be the Clamato... I also added some salt & few hearty dashes of Tabasco sauce to the liquid before cooking the mussels. (My idea was to make the broth like a spicy Bloody Ceasar cocktail.) The clamato really gives the mussels a kick that is a nice change from the classic garlic/wine French method. I did use the butter in the recipe, but I find it doesn't thicken the sauce that much anyway, and it almost tasted better before I added the butter, so this step will be optional for me in the future. I had lots of leftovers, so will add some diced tomatoes & tomato paste to the mussel meat and broth and turn it into a pasta sauce another night. What a great way to enjoy mussels, thanks for the recipe -- I will be sure to make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Absolutely fabulous. I thought I had the best mussels every but these where out of this world. My whole family loved them. I want to check out more recipes by this person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Like other reviewers I also added diced tomatoes. Also substituted chili powder for the pepper flakes and added some cayenne for zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I loved the Clamato idea, although it did not do much for me. It was very sweet in flavor (read ingredients.) I added a little more garlic and some basil/parsley to add some body to it. If you really like mussels give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
i've never made mussels before last night and was astounded by how easy this recipe is! the mussels turned out great and the sauce is the absolute best part, esp with some extra garlic. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This was perfect and unbelievably easy to make. I use the leftover sauce on my pasta afterwards too. My only problem is how it always boils over the top. I have to stand on top of it and as soon as it starts bubbling, shut it down. I'd love someone's help on this because I hate cleaning my stove top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Very easy to make and delicious. I'll make this one alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
My husband and I love this recipe. This was the first mussel recipe I ever tried and it was so easy and turned out great. I've tried others since I found this one but I always come back. A must have in your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Awesome recipe, little prep time, a tasty hit with the entire fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States