Appetizer Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I found this recipe for my husband to do and he absolutely loved it! He said they were probably the best mussels he has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Really good and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These were fantastic. I used regular tomato juice and a jar of calm juice, Chardonnay, garlic (reduced by at least 1/2) and then lite butter at the end. I also used some fresh parsley to brighten it up. Fantastic taste. I will use this recipe again. We dipped our toasted french bread in the juice.. it was just awesome. Thank you Casey52 for a wonderful, easy, and FAST recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These mussels are tasty! We didn't have any tomato and clam juice cocktail the first time we made them, so we substituted with Bloody Mary mix that we had on hand and they were great. Tonight we decided to make them again and we used the Bloody Mary mix again and thought they would be good with pasta, so once we removed the mussels from the liquid and added the butter, we added some sliced portabella mushrooms, de-shelled the mussels and added them back to the juice, cooked it down for a bit and mixed it with cooked spaghetti. It was fantabulous!!!!! We will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
My friends were so impressed with the flavor that they wanna personally shake your hand! LOL. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Bazzo
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I love this recipe and make it all the time. I follow it exactly and it works out great for me, every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is replacing my Mussels Diablo recipe. That being said, cooks might want to note that tomato/clam cocktail juice is made with high fructose corn syrup and msg. I didn't realize this until husband came back from the grocery store with the ingredients. Thank goodness I had V8 and clam juice in the pantry. I made that substitution. Rave reviews from my dinner guest. We served this over angel hair pasta and increased the amounts to serve 5 as a meal. My oldest daughter ate 3 helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
So easy! So delicious. A true winner. One note: I did double the recipe when I made these for a dinner party and they didn't come out quite as well as when I had made the original-sized batch. There wasn't as much of the delicious sauce. I'll add extra wine, butter and cocktail next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
These were delicious. Just the right amount of flavor and heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Holy ! These ARE amazing! im sure the regular recipe is delicious but I didn't have the "juice" recommended, but I did have spicy vegetable juice and tomato sauce! I use sauvignon blanc for the white wine and I added a tbsp of cholula hot sauce and a bay leaf, and I had garlic french bread which was stupendous! Definitely saved the leftover sauce for spaghetti sauce tomorrow! Also I slowly heated up the sauce on medium low for about 30 minutes then added mussels and turned it up to medium for the 6 minutes then turned the sauce on high heat for 5 minutes + definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vennettes_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States