Appalachian Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
A good way to use fresh garden veggies--we need to cut back on the onion a bit, because ours were overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hector, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was very good. There was very little dressing but that worked for me. It was a little salty so would probably decrease the salt next time but will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
A friend made this to go along with her hotdogs. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I thought this recipe was pretty good, though I did find it to be a bit salty, so I added some more sugar to try to balance it out more. I liked the addition of tomatoes and cucumbers. Overall, its probably not something I'll make regularly, but it was nice to try for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I'm not much of a coleslaw-type person, but this sounded good so I tried it...and I'm so very glad I did! I seeded the cucumber (used 1 whole) and the tomato; used a purple onion and bagged mix that had a small amount of carrots & purple cabbage (also added quite a lot more mayo than called for). This made a very colorful mix! I also don't like sweet slaws, so I tasted before I added the sugar, then tasted again after adding the sugar. It wasn't sweeter but it was definitely better! All in all, a great recipe and one I will make regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
8/13: The recipe lives up to its' description, it is a salad type slaw. I thought that this was a bit too salty for me (and I love salt!). This was good, but I don't think it will replace my other slaw recipes. I chopped the tomato and dried it on paper towels, cored 1/2 of the cucumber to remove as many seeds as possible before chopping and thus my mixture was pretty dry. I ended up having to use 2 TBS of mayo (reduced fat) to get this to bind together. A couple of hours later it was a bit soupy in the bottom of the bowl, but what slaw isn't? I used a 16 oz. tri blend bag of cole slaw with carrots and red and white cabbage. The presentation is very pretty. 8/7:My grandfather was a coal miner in the southwestern Virginia mines and I grew up in the Appalachian mountains. (Same guy that liked to eat squirrel cooked on the wood stove, honest!) Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I love this recipe. This really is an Appalachian recipe. My grandmother used to make this and she lived in the heart of Appalachia in the coalfieds of Southwest Virginia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I love coleslaw and this was a great variation to it. I used lo-fat mayo and it turned out great and saved some calories, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Great slaw! I made this with tomatoes and cucumber that I had de-seeded (eliminated a lot of the water that can make slaw soupy). I found that I needed a lot more mayo than 1 tbsp - I used well over half a cup for 4 heaped cups of bagged slaw mix. Also, used about 1/2 tsp of sugar because I am not keen on sweet slaw. Finally, I used celery salt instead of plain because I like the flavor. This turned out to be a very tasty colorful dish that I am sure I will make again. Thanks, Bluewoulf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I love this recipe. I substitued Spleda for sugar and light mayo and it was a great low cal side. I even sprinkled a few sunflower seeds and had as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States