Appalachian Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
They have this salad in my Safeway deli and they call it summer slaw, same ingredients. I'm pleased to have the recipe so I can make it at home and for picnics this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Great coleslaw! It is different than any other slaw I've had...like the author says "a salad version of coleslaw". Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsakitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I am from Appalachian Mts of VA. This slaw recipe is very familiar it was most of the time served in late summer after the fresh vegetables were harvested from the garden.. I have made this slaw many times and I will agree it has to have more mayo and also I add just a small amount of milk maybe tablespoon and maybe cut back on the sugar just a little .. It is a fun recipe to play around with .. and very good especially when the cucumbers and tomatoes are fresh from the garden!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamjb61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Edinburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is how I make my slaw, with a couple of changes that make a big difference- omit the tomato and add a couple tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
We are huge coleslaw fans, but weren't overly thrilled with this one. I think it was because it called for chopped cabbage rather than shredded. I wanted to try the recipe as written, so I chopped the cabbage. We did liked the addition of the tomatoes and cucumber. If I make it again, I will use a finer cut slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was pretty good. I cut the sugar and pepper in half, and doubled the amount of mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a great recipe and it may sound crazy but the only thing that makes it better is ranch dressing. I actually used more mayo than it called for (mayo w/ olive oil) and added about a third ranch dressing to the mayo with a little sugar to tone the tartness down a little and SCRUMPTIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
this is my favorite version of slaw yet. I have made it twice and my suggestion is select a cabbage that isn't rock hard. The looser more green ones have a much sweeter flavor. I did sprinkle a couple drops of red wine vinegar in the mayo, not more than that. The first time I made it I only had the grape tomatoes so I used them cut in half, the second time I used regular tomatoes, I think I like the grape tomatoes best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. The ingredient list is so simple I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did. I am actually not a very big fan of coleslaws and am very picky as to how they're prepared. I couldn't get enough of this - I almost ate a whole bowl by itself. If I was going to change anything I would probably use less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was a good mix of vegetables. I like tomatoes and cucumbers in this slaw. But the dressing needs something more. I used 2 Tbsp of mayo, but I don't think adding more mayo is what it needs--maybe a litte bit of ranch dressing added to it or Miracle Whip instead of mayo. I was looking for a slaw recipe without vinegar, so I'm trying to keep from adding that to it. I'll definitely try this one again with some additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States