Apfelkuchen (Apple Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by D&D'S MOM
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was delicious and not hard to make at all. It was humid the day I made this. The dough seemed way to sticky with the amount of flour called for in the dough part of the recipie. I hate altering recipies on my first try, but like I said, it was so muggy and we make a lot of our own bread so I know how that can effect dough. I did end up adding about one cup more flour. This gave me a slightly sticky, but smooth looking dough. I had to flour my finger tips to push it up the sides of the pan. The result, regardless of the flour issue, was so so good. It formed a soft, very thin layer between the apples and dough that was almost cheese danish like..but not doughy or under baked. My family loved it and I will positively make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Making this one again at husband's request for Thanksgiving dessert. I used dark brown sugar in the topping the first time. A little too "gooey" with just the brown sugar - going to use half regular and half brown sugar this time. Overall flavor and ease of prep was great. Don't be scared of the yeast batter - it takes care of itself without being fussy. Would be great warm with a little scoop of ice cream or whipped cream - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is a great recipe. So simple and quick to make. I used fresh apricots and no crumbs. Instead I whipped one egg with 1/2 cup sugar and poured that over the apricots. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Loved this cake, can't wait to make this for my family. First time making a cake with yeast. I was a little Leary, but it was great. Not overly sweet like a regular cake, just right. The dough is sticky but just keep your fingers floured and it works just fine. I didn't add the candied lemon, didn't have any. I used four apples because I felt my apples were small. I wouldn't change a thing. Lol not true I would also try a blueberry filling and a cherry filling. We all know a recipe is just a starting point : ) thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My mother is from Germany, I have been there several times. This is just like the cake I have eaten there. I may try with plums instead of apples next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
As good as in Germany, and my house smells heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I really like the concept of this recipe with yeast in the cake batter, baked apples, and crumble topping. The taste and texture were good, but it seems that the recipe's 400F cooking temperature is too high. The exterior of the cake was brown after just 20 minutes, but the center was not done. The next time I make this I will use a lower oven temperature in hopes that it will bake more evenly. ... I have made this recipe a second time using 375F cooking temperature and still wasn't thrilled with the way it came out. I wonder if I am overcooking it, but if cooked less then the batter that isn't touching the baking dish would still be doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Just made this for the first time today. This is one of the best desserts I have had in my whole life! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. Thank you so much, sneez, for such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Merwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is without a doubt the best apple cake I've baked; and yes it tastes just like the 'Apfelkuchen' you'd find in Germany. The only change I made was to substitute freshly grated lime zest for the candied peel, as I don't like candied peel, and I used 4 apples instead of 3. Next time I will bake it at 390' F for 40 minutes, and definitely bake it on the middle shelf of the oven as it baked a bit dark underneath.- although this could be due to my new oven that I'm still getting used to. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Wonderful! As a German, I thoroughly enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States