Apfelkuchen (Apple Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is a great recipe. So simple and quick to make. I used fresh apricots and no crumbs. Instead I whipped one egg with 1/2 cup sugar and poured that over the apricots. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by D&D'S MOM
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was delicious and not hard to make at all. It was humid the day I made this. The dough seemed way to sticky with the amount of flour called for in the dough part of the recipie. I hate altering recipies on my first try, but like I said, it was so muggy and we make a lot of our own bread so I know how that can effect dough. I did end up adding about one cup more flour. This gave me a slightly sticky, but smooth looking dough. I had to flour my finger tips to push it up the sides of the pan. The result, regardless of the flour issue, was so so good. It formed a soft, very thin layer between the apples and dough that was almost cheese danish like..but not doughy or under baked. My family loved it and I will positively make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this tonight and it was not only easy, it was flawless. The taste was wonderful -- I used brown sugar instead of white sugar, and added some Allspice as well. On top of all of this -- my home has never smelled more inviting! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Just loved this recipe. Kids and husband all raved about it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Delicious and easy! I added some cranberries and sunflower seeds for a different flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
As good as in Germany, and my house smells heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Making this one again at husband's request for Thanksgiving dessert. I used dark brown sugar in the topping the first time. A little too "gooey" with just the brown sugar - going to use half regular and half brown sugar this time. Overall flavor and ease of prep was great. Don't be scared of the yeast batter - it takes care of itself without being fussy. Would be great warm with a little scoop of ice cream or whipped cream - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
AWESOME! What a great cake. Very easy to make and just so delicious, especially warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudysfavorites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
this is a good dish I made it and everyone loved it but my first got a little burned that stunk it was such a tasty cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Wonderful! As a German, I thoroughly enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States