Apfelkuchen (Apple Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Purplejellybeans
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I am currently studying in Germany and this tastes better than the Apfelkuchen at the bakeries! It's not too sweet, just right. I add an extra apple, but 3 is just fine. The dough is super sticky, I add 1/2 cup more of flour, but i've realized that as "wrong" as this feels, sticky is OK! I also cut the butter by half in the crumbs (the butter it calls for made my crumbs almost a paste the first time) and add 1/4 cup of ground almond to my crumbs because why not?! DELICIOUS! This has my German boyfriend's seal of approval too! (ps. didn't add the candied lemon peel)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purplejellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I made this recipe substituting "Splenda for Baking" for the batter because you need some sugar for the yeast. My batter came out rather wet so I could not push it up the sides. DO NOT BEAT the dough in a stand mixer for 5 minutes otherwise your batter will come out like rubber. The 5 minutes must be for hand beating. I used the last 4 apples on our Golden Delicious tree. My result was yummy, but my lower layer also got very brown on the bottom. I did not use the lemon peel. All-in-all I believe this is a very versatile recipe that might be used for several other kinds of fresh fruit: apricot, peach, or cherry. I love the three layers: cake bottom, fruit center, and streusel-like topping. The streusel topping measurements of the sugar-to-butter ratio seemed like too much sugar for the butter. I've been looking for something to bake for work and this would be a good one. I will try this again soon to test my ideas. I too have experienced the wonderful baking of a German Konditerai and this is very close, if not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeccaH
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Such a great cake...almost brownie-like texture. It's essentially a sweetbread with yummy/gooey apple filling topped with a streusel. I ended up adding quite a bit more flour to the dough and also baked it about 10 mins longer, as the center still seemed gooey. It may have set up if I had just left it alone but I wanted to be sure. I actually signed up just so I could leave a review of this cake because there aren't enough. We really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this the other day, and it was a blast from the past! My mother is from Germany and used to make this often. This is the same recipe she has from a German cookbook called Backen macht Freude (baking makes joy!) The dough to this recipe can be used as a base for so many other cakes! Good job sneez :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this for my German grandmothers birthday and it was a big hit. The only negative was the dough rose a little too much on the sides of the cake which kind of bubbled over making the cake look a little strange. The inside of the cake was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I really like the concept of this recipe with yeast in the cake batter, baked apples, and crumble topping. The taste and texture were good, but it seems that the recipe's 400F cooking temperature is too high. The exterior of the cake was brown after just 20 minutes, but the center was not done. The next time I make this I will use a lower oven temperature in hopes that it will bake more evenly. ... I have made this recipe a second time using 375F cooking temperature and still wasn't thrilled with the way it came out. I wonder if I am overcooking it, but if cooked less then the batter that isn't touching the baking dish would still be doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This reminds me so much of the apple cake we got at the local German bakery as kids! I'm so excited to share it with my sister! Thank you for the walk down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Just made this for the first time today. This is one of the best desserts I have had in my whole life! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. Thank you so much, sneez, for such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Merwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is without a doubt the best apple cake I've baked; and yes it tastes just like the 'Apfelkuchen' you'd find in Germany. The only change I made was to substitute freshly grated lime zest for the candied peel, as I don't like candied peel, and I used 4 apples instead of 3. Next time I will bake it at 390' F for 40 minutes, and definitely bake it on the middle shelf of the oven as it baked a bit dark underneath.- although this could be due to my new oven that I'm still getting used to. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Loved this cake, can't wait to make this for my family. First time making a cake with yeast. I was a little Leary, but it was great. Not overly sweet like a regular cake, just right. The dough is sticky but just keep your fingers floured and it works just fine. I didn't add the candied lemon, didn't have any. I used four apples because I felt my apples were small. I wouldn't change a thing. Lol not true I would also try a blueberry filling and a cherry filling. We all know a recipe is just a starting point : ) thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States