Anzac Biscuits with Macadamia Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I would just like to suggest that the recipe be changed to say quick cooking oats... I used rolled oats like the recipe says and the dough is ridiculous. the oats are so huge and it doesn't even resemble dough. I'm thinking about adding an egg to see if I can turn this back into some sort of a cookie. WEIRD. Too bad I wasted some time and money and made weird granola instead of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pcskinner
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
note: The Australian word Bikkie or Biscuit is what we Americans call Cookie. I received this recipe from an Assie friend 10 years ago and every time I make these "Anzac Bikkies" people want the recipe. Instead of the Macadamia nuts my version has 1/3 cup of golden rasins. Which the Assies call "Sultanas" and instead of honey I use clear corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
These are SO good! I made two batches, one chewy and one crunchy. I think im more of a chewy fan. The dough wasnt dry for me at all. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Easy to make and tasted good, though a little on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phuong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
These were a hit with my daughter's Girl Scout Troop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
The thing I liked best about preparing this cookie was no electric beater. One less thing clean and put away. The stages were easy and the results were as written in the directions. Baked for 12 minutes gives you a nice sweet chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe! This cookie is best described as a chewy (or crunchy) sweet oatmeal cookie. It is very delicious. The macadamia nuts and coconut flakes give the cookie a great texture that compliments the oatmeal. What I like about this recipe is that it is egg-free, so the batter is definately safe to eat! The time-consuming part of the baking process is placing the dough on the cookie sheets. The dough is crumbly, and a bit dry so I recommend rolling the dough into small balls (not too compact), and then flattening them, shaping them into circles. The three centimeters for spacing is something that should be taken into consideration because these cookies do spread out quite a bit. I was also told by an Australian friend to let the cookies "age" for two or three days to achieve a chewier texture. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Gail A. Guild
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
These cookies are habit-forming! I've used this recipe several times because I love the taste of macadamia nuts and coconut. The only thing I do differently is add more water; about 1 to 1 1/2 tablespoons. The mixture will not hold together for me otherwise. For a uniform product, I press the cookie dough into a small cookie scoop, place them on an airbake cookie sheet then flatten them with a greased and sugared glass bottom (make sure it's flat-bottomed.) At 12 minutes, they are chewy; at 15 minutes they are crunchy, as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
tried it out the other day & proven to be some success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Hammarby Sjöstad, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Very good recipe. I'm an expat Aussie living in the US, and miss Anzac biscuits. FYI, don't let the name fool you. A biscuit is the UK/Australian term for "cookie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States