Anzac Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Hey everyone, a real true blue Aussie here. This recipe is probably one of the closest to the middle ground, of the various types we make. But just a note, **they don’t HAVE to be crunchy** In Australia, we are split. Half like them crunchy, half like them chewy. I think chewy only just wins, at least where I’m from. It is said that the women back at home in WWI wanted to make biscuits for the men at war, as they were concerned they weren’t eating well. But as they were on rations, they didn’t have eggs. So this recipe was born. Or so they say. Just remember, these biscuits are great crunchy or chewy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
Much different from the standard cookie mixes from my American recipes. I made these for an Aussie friend of mine. She was so excited. Although, I ended up using Karo light syrup instead of the golden. She assured me they tasted the same as what she remembered her mother making. I've tried with regular coconut and toasted. My household liked it best with the toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Wasn't sure which syrup here in Colorado (U.S.) was considered "golden" so I got the wrong one ("Karo Corn Syrup with real Brown Sugar") not sure how it affected the taste. Also, our first batch was SOOO super dry, we couldn't keep the cookies together at all! They were falling apart all over the cookie pans. The taste was good (or what you expect with ANZAC cookies) but all were so crumbly, and big balls as they didn't spread. So I read somewhere that in Australia the Tablespoon is bigger than here in U.S. (?) and so made a second batch and added more syrup and butter (like 2 more T. butter) and then they spread out like in the pictures. (Very greasy on the fingers, though, to drop onto cookie sheet because of all the butter, definitely use a spoon.) But they were what we had expected to get the first time. Everyone seemed to gobble them up (in my son's 7th grade class.) Also used Mound's shredded coconut; yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Doesnt get more Aussie than this!! The one and only recipe i have always used to make the boys Anzac Biscuits, id have to say i like a little extra golden syrup in my mix :) yet it never fails to hit the spot everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I have tried a few different Anzac biscuit recipes, and this one has the best balanced list of ingredients of all. The only downside is that the indicated cooking time will give very tough, brittle cookies. Some people like that, but we prefer chewie ones. I only baked mine for 15 minutes and they came out perfectly. They didn't spread too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I followed recipe exactly. Dont overbake, they come out of the oven soft, but quickly become a very crunchy cookie. I usually prefer a softer cookie, but actually really liked the flavor. The more you eat, the better they become!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Wonderful good "cripsy" cookies! They stay crisp, even after you dunk them in cold milk. Found "golden syrup" at a store carrying British items, the taste is well worth it to find that item. Cookies were a bit hard to remove from greased cookie sheets; switched to parchment paper and it was much easier. You can use the parchment paper over and over to cook the entire batch. The recipe made 4 dozen, but I ate over a dozen while baking them last night. Another favorite of the Key West Dessert Lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
A few changes: I toasted the coconut first before adding to dry ingredients. I added 1/2 cup dried currants to the dry ingredients. I used 1/2 c + 1 T butter, substituted molasses for the golden syrup and used 2 T of it. I formed the dough into 5 logs and baked for 20 minutes. Then I let the logs cool and cut each log into 6 slices. Then I toasted the slices in the oven at 150 deg for 6 hours, flipping midway through. This way the cookies are nice and crunchy and perfect for dipping into tea. Each cookie has 4.5 g fat and 9.5 g carb. With the modifications this is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Yeah! I have been looking for this recipe!!I had it 23 years ago and lost it along the way.The "golden syrup" I used to use is MAPLE syrup! I am in trouble now as these are very addictive!HaHa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My 9 year old Grandson and I made these biscuits (cookies) for a class presentation on Australia. We use unsweetened coconut and added a 1/4 teaspoon salt. If your dough is crumbly, just add more water, 1 teaspoon at a time, until the dough holds together. We used a small cookie scoop (about 1-1/2” across) and flattened the biscuits a bit. After baking they came out about 3 inches across. Our biscuits were smaller, so we baked them 10 minutes @ 350F. They came out crispy but a bit tough and chewy in the middle. After they cooled for half an hour, they crisped up more. We also found them a bit greasy; next time we’ll try 1/3 cup butter and add 1/4 cup more flour, for a softer cookie (personal preference). UPDATE: I used 1 cup coconut, 1-1/4 cup flour, 1/4 tsp. salt, and 1/3 cup butter, on my second attempt; and baked them @300F, 13 minutes. They were softer, as I had hoped. Either way the flavor of these biscuit is great A Google search found the original recipe on the Australian Government Department of Veterans’ Affairs website. Sharon’s recipe is spot on, except the original recipe calls for 1 cup coconut. NOTE: The Australian Tablespoon is actually about 1 teaspoon larger than the US Tablespoon; 1 (US) Tablespoon PLUS 1 (US) teaspoon is equal to 1 (Australian) Tablespoon. Adjust teaspoon measurements, using just slightly rounded teaspoons (or fractions of teaspoon) in Australian recipes; unless it is noted that measurements have been converted to US measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States