Anzac Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
These turned out pretty nice in the end, although the dough was extremely crumbly. A bit too sweet for my taste though, so to take the edge off the sweetness I made half the batch with dried fruit or nuts - some cranberries, some sultanas, peacans and some chopped crystallised ginger - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
yummy i used molasses instead of maple syrup coz i didnt have any my dads a really picky eater especially when it comes to sweet stuff but he loved these if you want them crunch make them small and if you want them chewy make them a bit larger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
My son had to have a tradidional austrailian food for social studies class. He was offered $5.00 for one biscut.they are a hit and now He wants to make them all the time. try it you will enjoy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keenlim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
i liked the suggestions added. Toasting the coconut beforehand definitely helps. I also added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and a dash of cardamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Crisp yet chewy, sweet, and very buttery. Since discovering I prefer the fine, unsweetened dessicated coconut over the flaked rubbery stuff, I have been searching for good coconut cookie recipes. This is excellent! I must mention, I accidentally used 2 Tb. honey and 1Tb. boiling water, but it was a good mistake I plan to repeat. Also, I was concerned with the butteriness while putting them on the sheets and the softness of the cookies right out of the oven, but the sugar crisped them up with cooling. I used honey and coarse turbinado for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Good onya, Sharon! These taste scrumptious and are not too difficult to make. I followed the recipe to a T except for substituting light corn syrup and adding a 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips (sorry to offend traditional Anzac lovers). Packing a heaping teaspoon with the slick mixture seemed to work, and they spread just enough to have a chewy center if you don't leave them in too long. Mine only took about 9 minutes. I think I'll make larger ones in the next batch and use a tablespoon. Many folks in the United States don't have access to golden syrup, so it would help I think to list an acceptable substitute. Actually, I have to admit that I cheated and added drops of orange food coloring just to give mine a sunny hue :) Oh, and I also don't like coconut but found these quite nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
One of the best cookies I've ever made. Just be careful not to burn them in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WCCLARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Doesnt get more Aussie than this!! The one and only recipe i have always used to make the boys Anzac Biscuits, id have to say i like a little extra golden syrup in my mix :) yet it never fails to hit the spot everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Hey everyone, a real true blue Aussie here. This recipe is probably one of the closest to the middle ground, of the various types we make. But just a note, **they don’t HAVE to be crunchy** In Australia, we are split. Half like them crunchy, half like them chewy. I think chewy only just wins, at least where I’m from. It is said that the women back at home in WWI wanted to make biscuits for the men at war, as they were concerned they weren’t eating well. But as they were on rations, they didn’t have eggs. So this recipe was born. Or so they say. Just remember, these biscuits are great crunchy or chewy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Wasn't sure which syrup here in Colorado (U.S.) was considered "golden" so I got the wrong one ("Karo Corn Syrup with real Brown Sugar") not sure how it affected the taste. Also, our first batch was SOOO super dry, we couldn't keep the cookies together at all! They were falling apart all over the cookie pans. The taste was good (or what you expect with ANZAC cookies) but all were so crumbly, and big balls as they didn't spread. So I read somewhere that in Australia the Tablespoon is bigger than here in U.S. (?) and so made a second batch and added more syrup and butter (like 2 more T. butter) and then they spread out like in the pictures. (Very greasy on the fingers, though, to drop onto cookie sheet because of all the butter, definitely use a spoon.) But they were what we had expected to get the first time. Everyone seemed to gobble them up (in my son's 7th grade class.) Also used Mound's shredded coconut; yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States