Anzac Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
What a nice recipe Sharon! I am pregnant at the moment and had a craving for these bikkies and they hit the spot instantly! I didn't need to cook for that long - did 14 mins and they are the perfect in-between of soft and crunchy. Will be a recipe I call on many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
These cookies were so good! i made them for my mom for mothers day because she likes macaroons and plain cookies so this seemed almost like a combination of the two! Of course she loved em and asked me to make more the next day! the only problem i encountered was the mixture being too crumbly it could have possibly been because i used honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is a delicious cookie! They are deliciously chewy and sweet. I was worried at first because I used corn syrup instead of golden syrup and because the dough did not want to stick together. I corrected this by adding about a tbsp more of melted butter until it did. I had no problem with my cookies falling apart but I was very surpried by how much larger they got while baking! If I make these again I would make them smaller and bake for a shorter amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Anzac Biscuits are the yummiest! It's a shame that you can't easily find Golden Syrup in USA, cause that really does give you the best flavour. Be sure to try the recipe a couple of times before you go adding and substituting ingredients. IMHO, why mess with perfection? Altitude will make a difference in how they come out (ie. crumbly or not spreading) - another reason to try a couple of times. The story about the ANZACs and Gollipoli (WW1) is true - the women made up the recipe, omiting eggs so that they could ship the biscuits to the men on the front lines without spoiling. ANZAC stands for Australia-New Zealand Army Corps. In Austraila & NZ, we eat them all year round, but they are a particularly special treat on ANZAC Day - April 25 - when we remember WW1 and the landing of the ANZACs at Galipoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Yeah! I have been looking for this recipe!!I had it 23 years ago and lost it along the way.The "golden syrup" I used to use is MAPLE syrup! I am in trouble now as these are very addictive!HaHa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Why are these so crumbly?? They're very tasty. But unless I squeezed each ball tightly they fell apart and looked more like granola cereal, not cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This is a terrific recipe. I teach and I made these cookies with my kindergarteners after learning about Australia and everyone loved it. It was easy, fun and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Dh and Dd said these were 4 1/2 stars. They said they were crunchy, chewy and delicious. Taste of the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I'm an aussie too and I haven't had an anzac biscuit in years. These were great, just like my Grandad used to make. My scales are broken so I had to guess at the measurements but it still turned out bloody lovely, with just a hint of chewyness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
WOW! I had some Aussies in town to visit and wanted to make them something to feel at home...so i made these. GOOD CHOICE! They said that they tasted JUST LIKE at home! and ate many. Soooo easy to make too, and sooooo yummy!!!! I used the white corn syrup instead of "golden syrup" as we don't have that here. (it's a syrup made of cane sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tablescraps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States