Anzac Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I send care packages of these yummy treats to my nieces and nephews studying at University...they RAVE about these biscuits! ANZAC Bikkies became a favorite of mine when I was an exchange student in Australia, and this recipe is exactly the same as the bikkies my host moms baked. It's worth the effort to order Lyle's Golden Syrup online just for making ANZAC Biscuits I! :) Thank you, Sharon, for posting this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Fantastic snack! Did no changes, great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a great little cookie!! It was fast, and I made it a bit healthier by reducing the sugar to 1/2 cup and because I frefer a chewier cookie, I increased the water to 4 Tablespoons. This is going to be my alltimefamily favorite for a long time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
A very easy cookie!! If you follow the direction your cookies will turn out.. I added cinnamon and a little vanilla to the mix. The cookie dough is very dry I added 2-3 extra teaspoons of water to the mixture it worked nicely becareful it makes the dough very sticky cause of all the honey. Its a great treat they seemed to be the healthiest cookie, not very much sugar more honey. its a fun cookie to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I've been baking anzac cookies for 20 yrs off this recipe and it's fantasic, however I have tweeked it a little. I'm not a huge fan of coconut so I only use 1/2 a cup and I use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of a full cup of white sugar. The brown sugar gives it a much nicer taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I have tried a few different Anzac biscuit recipes, and this one has the best balanced list of ingredients of all. The only downside is that the indicated cooking time will give very tough, brittle cookies. Some people like that, but we prefer chewie ones. I only baked mine for 15 minutes and they came out perfectly. They didn't spread too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
What a nice recipe Sharon! I am pregnant at the moment and had a craving for these bikkies and they hit the spot instantly! I didn't need to cook for that long - did 14 mins and they are the perfect in-between of soft and crunchy. Will be a recipe I call on many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
These cookies were so good! i made them for my mom for mothers day because she likes macaroons and plain cookies so this seemed almost like a combination of the two! Of course she loved em and asked me to make more the next day! the only problem i encountered was the mixture being too crumbly it could have possibly been because i used honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is a delicious cookie! They are deliciously chewy and sweet. I was worried at first because I used corn syrup instead of golden syrup and because the dough did not want to stick together. I corrected this by adding about a tbsp more of melted butter until it did. I had no problem with my cookies falling apart but I was very surpried by how much larger they got while baking! If I make these again I would make them smaller and bake for a shorter amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Anzac Biscuits are the yummiest! It's a shame that you can't easily find Golden Syrup in USA, cause that really does give you the best flavour. Be sure to try the recipe a couple of times before you go adding and substituting ingredients. IMHO, why mess with perfection? Altitude will make a difference in how they come out (ie. crumbly or not spreading) - another reason to try a couple of times. The story about the ANZACs and Gollipoli (WW1) is true - the women made up the recipe, omiting eggs so that they could ship the biscuits to the men on the front lines without spoiling. ANZAC stands for Australia-New Zealand Army Corps. In Austraila & NZ, we eat them all year round, but they are a particularly special treat on ANZAC Day - April 25 - when we remember WW1 and the landing of the ANZACs at Galipoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States