Anzac Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This cookie was made by a family member from Australia, and I can tell you it's perfect!! I can't find her recipe and this is perfect! Even her grown children said they were just like hers. The cookies are so good and easy, easy, easy. I also used sweetened coconut and instead of 1 cup of sugar I put 1/2 cup. I found golden syrup at World Market. Karo is too sweet. This golden syrup is so darn good too. And I don't remember which review said double the batch because the 1st batch will be eaten, wasn't kidding, that did indeed happen. I have made 8 batches since, and will do about 6 more for my Christmas cookie. I baked them on 350 for 10 min, checked and the bottom rack ones, I left in for 1-2 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Delicious... But DO NOT cook for the full time if you don't want crunchy cookies! 10 minutes was perfect, even though they won't look done when they come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I just used what I had in my cupboard. Karo light syrup worked well. I used a good old fashioned English tablespoon. I only had sweetened coconut so I used half the amount of sugar. Did plain, chocolate chip and pecan with golden raisins. All came out delish! Crunchy on the outside but chewy in the mouth. I'm glad I didn't put all the sugar as they would have been way to sweet for us. Great to have wonderful tasting all natural "cookies" as that's more like what they are - eat your heart out Pillsbury!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe is amazing ! Just a tip... The first time I made this recipe I found the dough to still be dry after adding the wet mix, so I suggest to make a little whole in the middle of the dry ingredient bowl then placing the wet mixture in. I also baked them for 10-15 minutes and it seemed to be just perfect ! Happy Baking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have just made these biscuits and they are a big hit.. Very yummy. My son said they would be even better with chocolate chips. Shall try next time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I have a recipe from an Aussie native, her recipe calls for 1 cup coconut and it needs to be UNsweetened for it to be genuine. She also bakes her cookies at 300* not 350, if you're dealing with dry cookies. They're supposed to crunchy like a granola bar hence why they were mailed to soldiers in the early 1900's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lov_2_cook&eat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
They were awesome! I put half the sugar in and it was perfect. And instead of using a saucepan to heat everything up I just used the microwaved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
For a chewy anzac, substitute the white sugar for 3/4 cup brown sugar & up the golden syrup to 2 or 3 tablespoons & cut the water to 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Tasty! I cut back the baking time to 15 mins. (dough size of walnut or slightly larger.) They were still crispy and not overcooked. For a chewy cookie, I would reduce even further to 13 mins. I found golden syrup on Amazon. It would probably be fine to use corn syrup or maybe even honey, though latter would alter the taste, and either would make them less authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I have these and they are SO GOOD. Now when my box of Anzac's Biscuits are gone, I can make them and enjoy them anytime I want. So good and not many calories--really good for you. Great on Fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States