Any Flavor Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I tried it and it turned out rock hard. I read a different review and it said that the type of sugar mattered. I used cane sugar and it didn't work. :( I'll try to boil it to a different temperature next time! Maybe 225 or something. I used molasses as flavoring and it tastes great, it's just hard candy form ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezzie Gumdrop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
ALthough this recipe is delicious, mine came out rather firm and hard. I think next time instead of cooking until 350 I may try 340-345, softball stage. Also I used two packages of koolaide in mine ans it was a great flAvor! I made lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Ive used this using fruit juice from the canned fruit where you buy pie fillings at,and retained the fruit for one thing and the juice for Taffy,it worked fine with the temp water test
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
!was a pain to wash the dishes after, also. Here's a little tip if you actually want to make this: use super hot water while washing the dishes for easier clean u.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I haven't tried this recipe but I had to comment on the review by FOA, regarding beet sugar. That's about all they sell in our stores, since we live in beet sugar country. I don't have problems with candy recipes as long as my thermometer is accurate. imho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I believe the secret to the sofness is the cup of corn syrup and not exceeding the 234F soft ball stage. I am a professionally trained pastry chef and have worked many times with sugar pulling making center pieces etc. I am a firm believer of using a QUALITY candy thermometer. My grandmother always used the ice cold water soft ball technique but the thermometer is a NO FAIL given! Candy making is an art and it involves significant knowledge and skill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made this with my two children (ages 7 & 9) and it turned out great! We actually used 2 kool-aid packets instead of one and it had lots of flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I used a sugar free packet of cherry limeade mix, since i dont usually have koolaid in my cabinets, and the flavor was amazing. it was a sticky mess for quite a while and the butter wasnt working on my hands very well, so i kept spraying my hands with a little water when the taffy became sticky and that worked well. i pulled for a good 10-15 minutes until it became light in color, then i rolled it out and cut it with my kitchen shears. my husband loved it, so i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I think there are two keys to this recipe. Temperature and stretching. Candy takes patience. I let it reach 255 degrees before removing from heat. I didn't want it too soft or to hard. I used two large buttered metal cookie sheets. Split the mixture between the two. I waited only until the candy was cool enough to touch (maybe 5 minutes) then i started stretching. I made cherry and the candy went from a dark red to a light pink by the time I was done stretching. I don't think it would have turned out nearly as good had I not stretched it so much. Also, make sure you have two people to stretch. By the time I got to the second pan it was already setting up. It still worked but was much harder on my arms! I may add two kool aid packets next time. My husband loves it. Also, I did NOT butter my hands before stretching. There was no need. It only stuck to itself. There was enough butter from the pan, I guess. I didn't want the candy to be butter flavored or coated in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydogclyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Loved it! I let the temp go to 260 degrees, just a little bit under the hardball stage (anything lower and it would have been to soft). Used a metal cookie sheet with high sides. My flavors: grape/lemonade koolaide, orange koolaide, and peppermint extract. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States