Anu's Bhapa Doi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The best way to describe this is that it is like a crustless sourcream cheesecake but with yogurt. I used lowfat plain yogurt and fatfree sweetened condensed milk without any problem. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and mine baked up in about 25 minutes. It was a bit too sweet for me and if I make it again I will not scrape the milk can clean but just pour in what comes out and see how it is then or if I need to adjust more. My understanding of Bhapa Doi (steamed yogurt) is that it is traditionally made with evaporated milk and is an unsweetened Bengali dessert flavored with cardomom and/or saffron. However I have seen sweetened versions of recipes posted on the internet. This would make a nice presentation baked in individual ramekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
OMG! This is incredible easy and delicious. All my family loved it and asked for me to do it again. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very easy and tasty. I made it for Valentine's Day so I added an Oreo crumb crust and drizzled caramel sauce and chocolate sprinkles on top and I used pecans instead of almonds. Next time I will make the plainer version using lowfat yogurt and see how that goes. To confert to metric, for a 300ml can of sweetened condensed milk I used 775ml of yogurt and it worked great. Firms up real nice. Definitely a keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I did not care for this. I did as another reviewer recommended and did not scrape the condensed milk can clean and this was still way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Thai Cook Chitima: This is a traditional recipe from Bengal India. Traditionally it is steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priyanka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Wow... What national is this recipe (Indian, Mexican, or totally fusion)? I will try it next weekend. Are you sure we don't need any flour? Will it stay formed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thai Cook Chutima

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I needed a dessert for a going away party and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was easy and very yummy. Very nice after a spicy Indian meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YOSI
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Soo good I made with greek strained nonfat yogurt 35.3 OZ.easy and fast!!for decorations toasted almonds, blueberries, strawberries and mango!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOSI

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States