Anu's Bhapa Doi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The best way to describe this is that it is like a crustless sourcream cheesecake but with yogurt. I used lowfat plain yogurt and fatfree sweetened condensed milk without any problem. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and mine baked up in about 25 minutes. It was a bit too sweet for me and if I make it again I will not scrape the milk can clean but just pour in what comes out and see how it is then or if I need to adjust more. My understanding of Bhapa Doi (steamed yogurt) is that it is traditionally made with evaporated milk and is an unsweetened Bengali dessert flavored with cardomom and/or saffron. However I have seen sweetened versions of recipes posted on the internet. This would make a nice presentation baked in individual ramekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
OMG! This is incredible easy and delicious. All my family loved it and asked for me to do it again. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very easy and tasty. I made it for Valentine's Day so I added an Oreo crumb crust and drizzled caramel sauce and chocolate sprinkles on top and I used pecans instead of almonds. Next time I will make the plainer version using lowfat yogurt and see how that goes. To confert to metric, for a 300ml can of sweetened condensed milk I used 775ml of yogurt and it worked great. Firms up real nice. Definitely a keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I did not care for this. I did as another reviewer recommended and did not scrape the condensed milk can clean and this was still way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Thai Cook Chitima: This is a traditional recipe from Bengal India. Traditionally it is steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priyanka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Wow... What national is this recipe (Indian, Mexican, or totally fusion)? I will try it next weekend. Are you sure we don't need any flour? Will it stay formed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thai Cook Chutima

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I needed a dessert for a going away party and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was easy and very yummy. Very nice after a spicy Indian meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YOSI
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Soo good I made with greek strained nonfat yogurt 35.3 OZ.easy and fast!!for decorations toasted almonds, blueberries, strawberries and mango!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOSI

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States