Antoinette's Strawberry Freeze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This is fabulous! I did tweak the recipe a little, however. I used Splenda instead of sugar and used the low fat cream cheese and light whipped topping. Was so decadent. I also spooned chocolate sauce over each serving and topped with toasted pecans, a dollop of whipped topping and topped with a marachino cherry. Was a dessert for my Mom's birthday party (made two dishes), wonderful for a crowd instead of banana splits! Everyone loved it :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This is the classic recipe, Champagne Salad. It has been served for years across the country by that name. Queengoddessnance, you should be aware of plagerism laws...it's quite unlikely you'd create a time honored masterpiece, right down to the exact measurement!(The salad has stood generations of proclaim....two thumbs up...the cool whip is to be gently folded in...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Dont let the time needed before you can eat it put you off - this is a truly deeeelish pudding, the whole family loved it. i will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Made this the other night, had some tonight, and it is delicious. Made half of the recipe and used an 8 by 8-inch glass dish. (If anyone wants to know, the drained weight of 1/2 of a 20-oz. can of Dole pineapple is 5-1/2 oz.) I used fresh (slightly sweetened) strawberries. The pineapple and banana became kind of mushy, so next time I will try pineapple tidbits and only coarsely chunk the banana for a better texture. Also, I would add the fruits directly to the creamed mixture, gently mix this, and then gently fold in the whipped topping (one less dirty bowl). DO add some slivered almonds or chopped pecans over the top. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This is very, very good. Next time I make this however, I will see how it fits into two 8"x8" so I can keep one in freezer. I wasn't certain if it was to go back into freezer again or not but family liked it better after it thawed completely and strawberries had more flavor than when frozen. Funniest thing was when I came into room and found my teenage daughter licking very last remains out of the dish. She was embarrassed but we almost rolled on the floor laughing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I brought this to a company function and everyone loved it. Several people asked for the recipe. I tweaked it a little by using strawberry Cool Whip since it was on hand when I bought it...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Mmmm. Company loved this treat. Really, you should set it out for a while before serving. I thought that because there is a lot of whipped cream in it, it shouldn't freeze too hard (whipped cream doesn't freeze solid), but it does. Probably because of all the fruit and the cream cheese it 'bonds' together and makes it very hard. So thaw a bit before serving. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
REFRESHING! We really loved this dessert! Easy to make and has a wonderful, light & fluffy texture. The fact that it's frozen makes it a lot like ice cream (except better)! Followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing! I used 2 bread loaf pans and 2 large custard cups (didn't have enough for a 3rd loaf pan). Definitely a repeat! A nice Spring-Summer dessert for those warm evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This was a wonderful recipe. I froze it in a bread loaf pan, so it was really easy to cut and present the frozen squares. I also 86ed the pineapple and added frozen raspberries. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was delicious when I made it. I put it in 12 individual small bowels and froze it over night as recommended. I got it out 1/2 hour before serving and it was like licking a popsickle. I suggest taking it out of the freezer 1 hour before. It was so good softened and a huge disappointment frozen. Either serve it immediately or make sure you take it out in plenty of time to thaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States