Antipasto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I also found this recipe to have too much vinegar at first. But I remedied this by adding a half cup of ketchup, a quarter cup of white sugar and another small can of tomato paste. That fixed it. I also have to note that once canned in my pressure canner, this recipe takes on a rich, fuller taste and the texture is also improved. This stuff turned out to be so good that I immediately made another batch. I will be proud to give some away as Christmas gifts, but not too much as I want most of it for myself. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
Thank you for posting this recipe. My mother used to make this and over the years I've lost the recipe. I m very happy to have it again. This is wonderful to eat on crackers and well worth the effort. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is a variation from one of my mother's most popular recipes. With some minor changes (I steamed the cauliflower and the carrots instead, used stuffed green olives and added some capers)the ingredients are pretty much the same. This is a GREAT dish, perfect to keep in the fridge and just eat with some crackers during a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabyota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Antipasto and old Italian family fav. Although my family has a 'wartime' variation on this that doesn't require any cooking, lot's of jars and cans... Mezzetta Giardiniera is a mix of carrots, celery, cauliflower already pickled and jarred. Marinated artichoke hearts, marinated mushrooms (drained,) pickled pearl onions, pimento stuffed green olives, pepperoncinni, black olives, tomato sauce, and tuna. Drain all the jars and cans, mix it up and chill in the fridge. If you don't like vinegar you'll hate this..lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was my first time making anti pasto, I followed other reviews on halfing the amount of vinegar and oil. Next time I would add a second can of tuna as my boyfriend said there wasn't enough. This does make a huge amount - I even had to go buy a bigger pot to cook it in- but I just put it into jars and they sealed from the heat. It turned out well, the flavor definitely increases over time so it's nice to let the jar sit for a week or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I agree--too much vinegar and too much oil. I cut the vinegar to 1/2 cup and oil to 1/2 cup. I used 2 cups chicken broth. Next time I would add another 6 oz can of tomato paste. I would eliminate the pickling spice and add Italian spices directly to the tomato sauce. I put my canning jars in the dishwasher, wash them and dry with heat. When they are done, I put the hot antipasto in them and put the seals/caps on. I just heard two seal. No need to put in water bath if you start with hot jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
When I was in college, my best-friend's mother provide us with jars of antipasto for our fall camping trips along the California coast-this must be her secret recipe! Other than it being a little too oily, this was great! My family enjoyed it with San Francisco sourdough french bread and a bottle of Sangiovese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
A friend made this recipe and I can't wait to make it at home to try it again. She added some capers and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Absolutely ... the BEST Antipasto recipe I have ever made. I substituted canned shrimp for the Tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The best....I just add 1 can of tomate paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States