Antipasto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
My husband requested antipasto (I've never eaten antipasto before) I made this recipe and he loved it. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Absolutely ... the BEST Antipasto recipe I have ever made. I substituted canned shrimp for the Tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was my first time making anti pasto, I followed other reviews on halfing the amount of vinegar and oil. Next time I would add a second can of tuna as my boyfriend said there wasn't enough. This does make a huge amount - I even had to go buy a bigger pot to cook it in- but I just put it into jars and they sealed from the heat. It turned out well, the flavor definitely increases over time so it's nice to let the jar sit for a week or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
So delicious! I made a half serving of this, and it was still a huge amount of antipasto, i gave some away and froze some for later. I used 4* cans of tomato paste instead of one, cut out the mushrooms (i dont' like them), and instead put in 2* cups of capers and upped the amount of olives to 2* cups each. I also used pickled pearl onions, and after the whole concoction was cooled, I briefly put it in the food processor to give it a great consistency for crackers :) definitely will make again. *adjusted to fit the original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Thank heavens for you all. I had my antipasto recipe in my hand today and poof! I lost it but it was very close to the one posted here so . . . thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I agree--too much vinegar and too much oil. I cut the vinegar to 1/2 cup and oil to 1/2 cup. I used 2 cups chicken broth. Next time I would add another 6 oz can of tomato paste. I would eliminate the pickling spice and add Italian spices directly to the tomato sauce. I put my canning jars in the dishwasher, wash them and dry with heat. When they are done, I put the hot antipasto in them and put the seals/caps on. I just heard two seal. No need to put in water bath if you start with hot jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The best....I just add 1 can of tomate paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is a very good recipe but keep stirring the boiling pot. The first batch I made I burned the vinegar/tomato paste stock.I had to start over but it really wasn't a big deal. I added pepperoncini to the batch but make sure you cut the bottom of each pepper to allow some of the vinegar to drain out or your antipasto with have a HUGE zing to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I also found this recipe to have too much vinegar at first. But I remedied this by adding a half cup of ketchup, a quarter cup of white sugar and another small can of tomato paste. That fixed it. I also have to note that once canned in my pressure canner, this recipe takes on a rich, fuller taste and the texture is also improved. This stuff turned out to be so good that I immediately made another batch. I will be proud to give some away as Christmas gifts, but not too much as I want most of it for myself. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Antipasto and old Italian family fav. Although my family has a 'wartime' variation on this that doesn't require any cooking, lot's of jars and cans... Mezzetta Giardiniera is a mix of carrots, celery, cauliflower already pickled and jarred. Marinated artichoke hearts, marinated mushrooms (drained,) pickled pearl onions, pimento stuffed green olives, pepperoncinni, black olives, tomato sauce, and tuna. Drain all the jars and cans, mix it up and chill in the fridge. If you don't like vinegar you'll hate this..lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States