Antipasto Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
I made this for my step-daughters grad party and total strangers asked me for the recipe. I have to admit I didnt taste any at the party, but the next day I ate some leftovers and it was fantastic. I made a few alterations; rotini instead of sea shell, yellow or red pepper in place of green, 3oz. can of olives, 3 green onions, and instead of the dressing provided in the recipe- I used Newman's Own Light Balsamic Vinegrette. It was a huge hit. The key was to mix everything together but the balsamic dressing and let it sit for a while. In my case, 24 hours before I poured the Newman's Own on it. Really yummy! One reviewer suggested Pepperchini's, which I think would be a great addition. I didnt think this cost much to make, and I dont understand why people think there is so much chopping. That is a part of cooking! This is an excellent recipe and one woman at our party said it was going to be her pasta salad recipe from now on. Excellent! (Edited 5/9/2010)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
EXCELLENT!! I would suggest not substituting the asiago cheese, it has such a distinct flavor and it adds so much to the flavor of the salad. I did use a three cheese vinigrette that contained the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, seasonings, and parmesan cheese. It made it so much easier, and saves the cost of having to buy individual ingredients that you may not already have on hand. I did add additional salt and pepper, and a shake of red pepper for zest. TIP: If you gently squeeze the tomatoe after slicing off top before chopping, it will remove the excess juice and seeds so that the salad doesn't get watered down as it sits. This is one of the best pasta salads that I have ever made. I am so happy to be adding it to my collection. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Really good. There was not a bite left after the cookout. I used fussili pasta, I used halved grape tomatoes. I added chopped artichokes, I omitted the pepperoni and doubled the salami, I used a combination of brine cured olives, I added finely sliced red onion, I roasted the red peppers, omitted the oregano and used fresh parsley. Per the suggestion of a couple other reviewers, I used a little less oil, but I think I will use all of it next time. I liked the asiago cheese, but I think next time I will try real mozzarella instead. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This was a wonderful dish and easy to prepare. I followed the recommendations of other reviewers and made both the salad & dressing the night before. I mixed them together two hours prior to serving. I also scaled the recipe down to six servings. For four people (two of them big men) it was still way too much. The antipasto does hold up well for left overs. This dish is perfect to bring to parties & picnics, but be prepared to drop some cash. The ingredients are not cheap, but the compliments from your guests/friends make it well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Great recipe, however the flavor can get lost easily. If you add all of the ingredients except the balsamic before refridgerating, the flavor of the Italian dressing comes out a lot better. Then just add the balsamic just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Hey yo, if you don't like pasta salads, then you'll love this one!! If you love pasta salads, then you'll lose your mind behind this one!!!! This one was so flavorful. If you like bland foods, then don't try this one at all. The Asiago cheese added a different, but very pleasing taste to it. It definitely tastes better the second day. Allow dressing to be absorbed overnight. I also added two italian dressing packets. Next time I make it, I'll add some more meat to it......but that's strictly my preference cause I love meat. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I've probably made this now at least 10x!! it's a HUGE hit (in fact, friends request me to bring it to parties). so figured it should comment! i've leared a few hints from making it so many times..i've now "perfected it". 1)***THIS IS BEST MADE THE NIGHT BEFORE!!***this truly is the secret! the flavors need time to develop and incorporate! 2) i use 1lb. multi-colored rotini. 3) i use 1 box cherry tomatoes halfed. 4) 1/2c. oil was too much for me!! - i cut down to 1/4 C - and like 3Tbl of zesty italian dressing. 5) i add a handfull of chopped banana peppers. 6) i add 3 green onions finely sliced. 7) POUR 1/2 the dressing on the night before - and allow to "marinate" overnight in fridge. then add the remaining dressing right before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpalm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This is a great recipe. I sometimes add artichokes and/or garbanzo beans. Substituting shredded mozzarella for the asiago is also quick and delicious. I also like to use grape tomatoes or cherry tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes.It is a meal all by itself, especially on warm summer nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Absolutely easy and delicious. It makes a ton so is handy for an anytime snack over a long weekend. :) Taking suggestions from other reviewers.. i changed the following: 1. Used less olive oil. 2. Used Kraft Italian dressing. 3. Roasted some red peppers, de-skinned, julienned and added those. 4. Added cherry tomatoes. 5. Added feta cheese instead of asiago. 6. Added red onions and some garlic cloves (whole). Definitely will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
This is my family's favorite pasta salad! The dressing is so easy and tastes so good! I usually omit the green pepper and replace with green onions, use 4 diced Roma tomatoes or substitute grape tomatoes, and even more sliced black olives. If you can't find Asiago, diced Provolone also works wonderfully! Also, I tend to cut back just a bit on the oregano- 1 1/2 tablespoons is more to my taste. Definitely a keeper! Thanks Dayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 936) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States